Easy Cheesy Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
Honestly this is close to a similar recipe that is a staple crockpot dinner in our house. I've cooked with Cream of 'Whatevers' for years... but the Cheddar Cheese Soup is a nice touch. Will use double the cheese next time, as the 'cheese' taste was very subtle and hard to taste. I also agree that mixing ingredients in a mixing bowl and then putting it in the crockpot seems to work better, for anything I do in the crockpot. I did add some minced garlic in the soups, as well as putting some garlic powder on the chicken with seasoned salt & pepper, and it was not overpowering and blended very well with the soup mix. I also made a mistake and added the sour cream in the beginning (distracted by kids) but it worked out great as it had time to cook and marry with the soups. Turned out terrific, and will make this again, but with more cheese to see how much better this could be :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyoming, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I tried this with 2 cans cream of chicken soup, 1 can celery, 1/2 can cheddar cheese, and 1 can cream of mushroom. I seasoned the chicken with garlic powder, oregano, and cajun seasoning, and added fresh onions, peppers, and mushrooms. Then seasoned the whole thing with garlic powder and red pepper flakes. Put it on low at 8:30 am and came back in the afternoon to a soupy mess, so I added another cream of chicken. Toward the last hour I added some more onion and put ziti noodles in to thicken the mixture. Added a couple dollops of sour cream right before dinner. Tasted pretty darn good at the end, but I think without adding your own stuff the taste would be a little bland. I might make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
This recipe was fantastic and so simple ! I will definitely make again ! I put it over rice and it was great .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I didn't care for this at all. Just tasted too "canned" to me. I appreciate how easy it was though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Overall, I liked this recipe, although I thought it was a little bland. Next time I may add some seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
My 7year old likes this and he is so picky! I'm so glad when i find something he will not only eat but ask for seconds and thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLa_Land

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
After reading quite a few reviews,I did make a couple of changes to fit my tastes. I only used 2 chicken breasts since it's just me and my husband. I did 1 can of cream of chicken, 1 can of cream of cheddar and skipped the mushroom. I added 1 packet of Italian Dressing seasoning, garlic powder, and a few other herbs. I didn't add additional salt and I think that was the right decision for me. I put it on low for 9 hours while I went to work. My chicken wasn't all the way thawed when I put it in but it turned out so tender, not over cooked at all. Once I got home, I boiled some brown rice, cooked some frozen broccoli, and then threw it all together. The tender chicken just shredded while stirring it all together. A couple bites in, my husband said it was salty, which I agreed. Lightbulb went off, oh yeah, sour cream! I do think that helped cut the salt taste. Overall, I think this recipe is fine. Nothing that wowed me, nothing that was gross, just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Absolutely delicious and fast! I added broccoli and served over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This was perfect! So tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly but found the flavours to be a little bland. The chicken was moist and delicious but again didn't hold much flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 587) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States