Easy Cheesy Bacon Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2005
Cheese spread with bacon isn't available in my corner of the world, so I used cream cheese instead. After mashing with a potato masher I didn't like the texture, so I put it through the blender. The result was a creamy, delicious soup. I was going to add bacon, but thought it tasted great the way it was. It's not a good diet food because of the high fat and calories, but it's an excellent comfort food and treat. The three servings produced were quite large.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sagamihara, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I would have given this recipe 5 stars if it hadn't just turned into mashed potatoes when I made it. I used homemade chicken stock instead of water and bouillon but when I cooked it like the recipe called for the potatoes absorbed all the liquid and all I was left with was mashed potatoes. I used 3 medium sized potatoes and ended up adding about another 2 cups of stock. I also used an 8 oz block of cream cheese instead of the cheese spread which I added and then pureed the soup. I added 6 slices of bacon cooked crisp and chopped up. It tasted fantastic and everybody in my family loved it. Will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
This soup is wonderful, I used 4 cups of water, 3 chicken bouillon cubes. will make this often. I added cooked chopped broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I cooked extra bacon (besides the bacon in the cheese spread) and chopped it up and added it to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ProStreet33Ford

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
very good I took the advice of another review and put it in the blender, on stir, for about a 5 sec, and I added copped bacon and ham, salt and peper. and chedder chesse. I also used about 4 cups of water it was still very thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bambi.S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Micky Johnson
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
It's a fast and easy soup to make, but tastes like you spent a lot more time. I increased the ingredients for a church potluck, and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: Jefferson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I went looking for a potatoe soup and this had all the ingreadients I had plus the lady and I have the same last name. So there you have it I renamed it hug soup. Came out fabuloso...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I make this at least once a month! Its awesome I always double the recipe because like most things it is even better the next day for lunch. AWESOME & EASY! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This recipe was amazing. If you have kids and they wont eat the onion, try blending it so its more like a puree. It was absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I really liked how this turned out. It wasn't a very, very long preparation, and that worked well for me. I just needed a way to get rid of some half cooked potatoes. This soup was the answer. Of course, since this was a meal saver, I wasn't prepared. You may laugh, but I didn't have: 1. Chicken boullion; but I replaced it with beef bouillon (uhhh is that okay?) 2. That cheese spread with bacon; I replaced it with shredded cheddar cheese and bacon bits, LOL :D (Now that is NOT okay, haha! ) 3. A potato masher; I just used an egg beater... '~' I am a kitchen amateur. This is the first recipe I've done on this site!!! I just joined allrecipes yesterday so I could improve my cooking and baking, so by the time school is back in session, I'll be good enough for Thanksgiving & Christmas baking... I hope... :) Thank you so much Ms. Hugg for posting this recipe. Even an amateur like me could make this taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArtistCulinarius

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States