Easy Cheesy Bacon Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2005
Cheese spread with bacon isn't available in my corner of the world, so I used cream cheese instead. After mashing with a potato masher I didn't like the texture, so I put it through the blender. The result was a creamy, delicious soup. I was going to add bacon, but thought it tasted great the way it was. It's not a good diet food because of the high fat and calories, but it's an excellent comfort food and treat. The three servings produced were quite large.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sagamihara, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I would have given this recipe 5 stars if it hadn't just turned into mashed potatoes when I made it. I used homemade chicken stock instead of water and bouillon but when I cooked it like the recipe called for the potatoes absorbed all the liquid and all I was left with was mashed potatoes. I used 3 medium sized potatoes and ended up adding about another 2 cups of stock. I also used an 8 oz block of cream cheese instead of the cheese spread which I added and then pureed the soup. I added 6 slices of bacon cooked crisp and chopped up. It tasted fantastic and everybody in my family loved it. Will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
very good I took the advice of another review and put it in the blender, on stir, for about a 5 sec, and I added copped bacon and ham, salt and peper. and chedder chesse. I also used about 4 cups of water it was still very thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bambi.S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Micky Johnson
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
It's a fast and easy soup to make, but tastes like you spent a lot more time. I increased the ingredients for a church potluck, and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: Jefferson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
This soup is wonderful, I used 4 cups of water, 3 chicken bouillon cubes. will make this often. I added cooked chopped broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I cooked extra bacon (besides the bacon in the cheese spread) and chopped it up and added it to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ProStreet33Ford

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I went looking for a potatoe soup and this had all the ingreadients I had plus the lady and I have the same last name. So there you have it I renamed it hug soup. Came out fabuloso...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I make this at least once a month! Its awesome I always double the recipe because like most things it is even better the next day for lunch. AWESOME & EASY! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was really easy to make with a very satisfying flavor. I used cream cheese and 6 slices of bacon. I also added garlic powder, black pepper and a little bit of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I really liked how this turned out. It wasn't a very, very long preparation, and that worked well for me. I just needed a way to get rid of some half cooked potatoes. This soup was the answer. Of course, since this was a meal saver, I wasn't prepared. You may laugh, but I didn't have: 1. Chicken boullion; but I replaced it with beef bouillon (uhhh is that okay?) 2. That cheese spread with bacon; I replaced it with shredded cheddar cheese and bacon bits, LOL :D (Now that is NOT okay, haha! ) 3. A potato masher; I just used an egg beater... '~' I am a kitchen amateur. This is the first recipe I've done on this site!!! I just joined allrecipes yesterday so I could improve my cooking and baking, so by the time school is back in session, I'll be good enough for Thanksgiving & Christmas baking... I hope... :) Thank you so much Ms. Hugg for posting this recipe. Even an amateur like me could make this taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States