Easy Cheese and Ham Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Great recipe! I made it a little differently - used a can of condensed cream of mushroom soup mixed with a can of evaporated milk to sub for the cream. Made this in the slow cooker - layered ingredients, poured my mushroom soup mix over top and cooked on high for 3 1/2 hours - turned out great! Thanks for a super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This is one rich dish. I've made this exactly as the recipe instructs with "good" results, but the general consensus is "too rich." I modified the recipe by doing half heavy cream, and half/half. I used ham steaks, but cook the water out of the cubed ham first, drain. Then layer the potatoes, ham and cheese. Double the cheese. Cook a little longer to ensure the dish isn't runny (almost half hour longer). The yukon gold potatoes really do work the best. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
The cheese sauce didn't thicken as much as I would have like (that's why I gave it only 4 stars). Next time I'll probably use slightly less cream and maybe more cheese. My husband loved it! We ate this for leftovers until it was gone...which is rare in our house...we are not leftover lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This was the best I've ever had! Of course, I doubled the recipe since I have a large family. I used 5 lbs. Yukon Gold potatoes, 2 cups sharp cheddar, 2 cups mild cheddar, approx. 1 1/2 lbs. leftover ham, I only had 1 clove of garlic (I used garlic powder also), a medium onion (diced pretty fine), salt and pepper liberally to taste, extra garlic powder (that's how we like it-full of flavor!). Mixed all of it in a big bowl and put in one 9x13 pan and one 5x7 dish. In the larger dish, I put 1 1/4 quarts of heavy whipping cream and 3/4 quart of heavy whipping cream in the smaller dish. I did bake at 350 degrees, but I ended up baking this for an hour and a half (10 minutes longer for the larger dish). I know this review is long, this could really help the cook with 7 or more people to feed! This was not too cheesy, even with all the cheese I used. It was very rich, but so very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This was so easy, and very tasty. We had three people at our family event who do not like scalloped potatoes, and they loved this! I'm one of those three, and I will absolutely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This recipe was great for leftover ham. I eliminated the garlic and used a cheddar/mozzarella mixture for the cheese. It seems to melt better, and absorbs some of the extra liquid. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
The 2nd time I made it I put in 1/4 c flour and 1/4 c butter and made a roux.... Then added the cheese. Made all the difference in the world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wbkski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This is not a recipe I will use again. I only had 16oz of heavy cream on hand and, after reading the reviews, decided to add 1/2 & 1/2, but only 6 oz. I put in 1/2 c extra cheese and baked it 30 minutes longer than required in the recipe. It was very watery and left the kitchen smelling "weird" according to my guests. It really wasn't very tasty, and surely wasn't worth the high amount of fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Everyone in my family loved this even the picky eaters. What a great combo of my favorites of cheese, ham, and potatoes. I will definitely make this for my family again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Very good but instead of cream i used buttermilk. Turned out runny but a little cornstarch cured that problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States