Easy Cheese and Ham Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
These potatoes were very good! I used a 5lb bag of yukon golds, 2 med onions, 5 garlic cloves, 12oz package of diced ham, 1 pint of heavy cream & 1/2c of half and half. I was afraid it would be too watery so I cooked off the onion/ham/garlic mixture before adding to potatoes. Also, even with reducing the liquid by almost half I still felt the sauce was too thin for my liking. I ended up mixing in a cornstarch/water slurry to thicken it up. It turned out fantastic. Served with grilled chicken and steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
It was ok - to rich for me and I used 1 pint heavy cream, 1 can cream of mushroom soup, 2 cups ham, and 5 potatoes, 1 onion, 3 cloves garlic, and 2 cups shard cheddar cheese. I also thought it had a fishy taste?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I could not in good conscience use 4 cups of heavy cream, so I substituted with 1 cup half and half and 3 cups of whole milk. I'm not sure what happened, but it curdled and after an hour the potatoes hadn't even begun to soften and it was very runny. This recipe was a complete flop for me and left me scrambling to Walmart for pizza for my hungry family :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Wonderful recipe with OR w/o substitutions. I had no heavy cream so used full fat evaporated milk & some cream cheese in it's place. Rich & creamy...yummy! Thanks for helping me use up my leftover ham today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This recipe didn't work for me at all. The cheese/sauce didn't get saucy. Instead it became lumpy and was very very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This was delicous. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
SO easy. I didn't change a thing and it was easy and very, very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Overall flavor was very good. But, sauce did need thickening (in my opinion). Love the Yukon Gold Potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
love this recipe!!! huge hit with my hubby and even the kiddos love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Very easy & delicious!! After reading the reviews, I figured I would turn the oven on to 400 degrees for an hour. Potatoes were very tender & it was creamy. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antioch, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States