Easy Cheese and Ham Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2015
Yum, this was fantastic. Made this the other day, and we loved it. A great way to use up some leftover ham that I had. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Easy recipe and very tasty! Would make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I didn't want it runny, so I made a roux on the stove with flour and half & half. It poured over the top very well, and the dish turned out wonderfully, and was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liederlover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Delicious, definitely needs double the time to cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
The family LOVED it! I added fresh mushrooms and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I followed the recipe and it came out like soup. I'll look for a better one next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I made this recipe yesterday and it never thickened. I followed it to the T. It was very soupy. I even left it in the over for 1 1/2 hours waiting for it to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathyo63

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Really good start. Thanks to some of the other reviewers that suggested cutting the heavy cream in half. I also added about a 1/2 teaspoon of salt, pepper and chopped chives. I also topped with more cheddar cheese and parmesan cheese to create a crusted top. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This is a good base recipe. After reading all the recipes and making this once I've come to a couple of conclusions. First, the wateriness people don't like probably comes from the fact that the potatoes, certain cheeses and the ham all have quantities of water in them. This is what I've done and I think it comes out well. Slice your potatoes fairly thin (drain well), pat dry if necessary and dice onion. Any ham will do but cubed ham will cook more evenly with the potatoes. . Make a roux by melting 1/2 c. butter; don't allow it to scorch or brown. Add the flour SLOWLY until you create a smooth paste - a whisk works best. Sauce will thicken quickly. The roux should be thicker than the norm because next you will slowly add the heavy cream a tablespoon at a time (NO Half and Half or Milk - cream - with butterfat). Your sauce should be thick but not too thick. Think a bit thinner than cheese dip. Slowly stir in the cheese. The whole should be emulsified but thick. Use chicken broth to thin. This will give it flavor (water will not). Add your powders (if you have any - onion or garlic). In your dish create a layer of potato, onion / garlic; add the cheese mixture and slather over the layer. Create one to two more layers and finish with a layer of sauce on top. Add butter crumbs if you like or just brown the dish "as is". Still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dfwenigma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Followed recipe, had in oven at 350 for an hr and a half. Potatoes still not soft. The base was good and all. Had it covered so dont understand why potatoes still crunchy. There is room for tweaking the recipe will try again later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States