Easy Cheese and Ham Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Very easy and very good, made the recipe exactly as written and all my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willmar, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raymond, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This is one rich dish. I've made this exactly as the recipe instructs with "good" results, but the general consensus is "too rich." I modified the recipe by doing half heavy cream, and half/half. I used ham steaks, but cook the water out of the cubed ham first, drain. Then layer the potatoes, ham and cheese. Double the cheese. Cook a little longer to ensure the dish isn't runny (almost half hour longer). The yukon gold potatoes really do work the best. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
These were good. My hubby didn't say they were as good as my Grams so that is the only reason for a 4 instead of a 5. Wish they had a 4.5. I will keep making them and try different things until I get it right I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This is a big hit with my kids. I think a smidge less cream and a touch more cheese makes it more "solid" but either way it is delicious. most importantly, cook it for an hour and a half. an hour is not long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Great recipe! I made it a little differently - used a can of condensed cream of mushroom soup mixed with a can of evaporated milk to sub for the cream. Made this in the slow cooker - layered ingredients, poured my mushroom soup mix over top and cooked on high for 3 1/2 hours - turned out great! Thanks for a super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Sooooo good, and even better when it's reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baden, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was very good. I used less cream that it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RKRRM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richardson, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Excellent way to use leftover ham from Christmas. I made this for a potluck and got quite a few compliments on it, and hardly had any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This recipe was great for leftover ham. I eliminated the garlic and used a cheddar/mozzarella mixture for the cheese. It seems to melt better, and absorbs some of the extra liquid. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This was ok. I thought I might have finally found a recipe to use with a ham steak. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of adding pepper and cutting down on the cream and upping the cheese like another reviewer. I think mine needed to be in the oven a tad longer as some of the potatoes were still crunchy. My cream curdeled and it looked unappealing. I also got a tremedous amount of water in the dish that I believe was from the ham? I will continue on with my quest for a good recipe for ham steak. This just did not suit our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States