Easy Cheese and Garlic Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jonnyfleur
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Very yummy, I added fresh rosemary and Parsley instead of garlic and a pinch of dried mustard. Milk was a bit too much and temp could have been 400 degrees C. We ate them along side a beef stew. A good starter recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I'm with the other commenters, 2 tbsp of butter is not enough, and I wonder if it may have even been a typo. I used 6, also 1 cup of cheese that was half aged cheddar and half monterey jack which gave it some nice bite. Took another's advice and added about a teaspoon of rosemary, and then thought 'what the hey?' and added some real bacon bits. Because, of course, everything's better with bacon. Wonderfully savoury, add a bit of margarine when they're hot and you've got yourself a crowd pleaser here friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dave walton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I LOVE THIS. mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This turned out good! I used 1 heaping cup of cheddar and minced 2 jalepenios in place of the garlic. I also upped the butter to 6 T. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicaD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Lovely recipe, I did had extra butter and cheese and one teaspoon of baking powder. Everyone loved them, making a second batch already, need make a double the amount this time. XX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gee160

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made a few modifications to this. instead of self rising flour, i used regular flour and two tsp of baking soda, 4 tsp of butter and I added in bacon - about four strips cooked and then crumbled, along with the cheese -- because I used bacon, I nixed the salt. Went over pretty well, great addition to a cup of tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
thank you first time ever that my scones havent failed lol i did use 6Tbs marg instead of butter but soooooooooooooooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shahn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kerikeri, Northland, New Zealand
Living In: Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I love these !!! Used 5T of basil butter I had leftover and 1 C Sharp Cheddar. GREAT basic recipe..thank you !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebInOH

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sylvania, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
These were great. I did not have self rising flour so I used whole wheat and about 2 tsp of baking powder. They rose perfectly and were delicious. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collins, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Delicious. Tip: If you don't have self-rising flour, for each cup of self rising flour, substitute 1 cup normal flour, 1/4 tsp salt and 1.5 tsp baking powder. I used it and it worked out marvelously. Very quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

This delicious dish is ready in less than 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States