Easy Cheddar Biscuits with Fresh Herbs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
These were really good. I used more cheese-extra sharp cheddar- and added a bit of garlic powder. Then I brushed the tops with melted butter (yum)instead of egg and sprinkled with a very small amount of garlic salt. They needed a little bit of milk in order to not be dry. These were great for dinner, but even better the next morning for breakfast. My boyfriend said they were good enough to sell and he is a pretty discerning eater. The fresh rosemary is great-I read that some people thought it was overpowering, but that may possibly be contributed to using the dried herb as opposed to the fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Meh. Not my favorite. Tasted dry and I even used twice the cheese, missing *something* just not sure what. The family like them though. I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I used thyme (realized at the last minute I didn't have rosemary, SAD!), a bit more sour cream, a full cup of cheddar because we love cheese, and a bit more milk because it looked dry. Also sprinkled the tops of the biscuits with extra cheddar instead of the egg wash. The result was really good! Very soft and tender, herby and the cheese on top was the perfect touch. Some other reviewers complained of dry biscuits and I think the extra sour cream, cheese, and milk stopped that from being an issue with my biscuits. Perfect with Easter dinner and will definitely be made again and again. I'd love to try it with homemade baking mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Very good, but slightly over baked at 12 minutes . I also added 1 cup of shredded old cheddar. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
These were wonderful but I had to make a substitution. I found I was out of sour cream as I was mixing these up. But I did have some whipped cream cheese with chives. Added a 1/4 cup of egg substitute to the wet ingredients because biscuits tend to be very dry. Brushed some on the top too. Came out moist and yummy. Going to use the leftover biscuits tomorrow morning with low fat country cream gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
My boys don't like rosemary very much so I reduced the amount to about 1/2 teaspoon and it turned out well. I needed to add a dash of milk to make the dough come out right. I love the hint of mustard in these. Next time I will make them for breakfast and put sausage patties in them! Great recipe; thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Fantastic! I used dried rosemary and just ended up dumping all the ingredients together and they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
These were just okay. They turned out a little on the dry side and didn't have as much flavor as I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
These biscuts were ok, and I loved the addition of rosemary but they were incredibly dry!!! This recipe need's some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Excellent! Moist, flavorful, and so quick! Omitted the mustard as I don't like any flavor of mustard and added some finely chopped pepperoni (as it went with the entree' I was serving). Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States