Easy Cheap and Yummy Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Fantastic and super easy! I made two different pans of this: One with beef hot dogs and regular baked beans and a smaller one with vegetarian hot dogs and vegetarian baked beans. I used a homemade cornbread recipe to which I added one can of creamed corn and a little asiago cheese and provolone cheese. I covered the bean and hot dogs with the cornbread mixture and sprinkled over the top some sharp cheddar -- not too much, but enough to make it crisp up and give a little more texture. Served it with asparagus and both my kids asked for seconds. This is a rarity with a picky eater in the house so this will definitely on our recipe list. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
Great family recipe, everybody in the house ate it...even the picky ones! I added chopped jalapeno's to the corn bread part, used two boxes of jiffy corn bread mix, a 55oz can of Bush's homestyle beans to which I added chopped onion. It also only took about 1 1/2 pkgs of "Beef" hot dogs, sliced in about 1/4" slices to cover the top of the beans, baked it for 40 mins. in a 9x13 pan and this fed a family of 6. Great Recipe! Tastes like Corn dogs and baked beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
My family enjoyed this and we have made it twice since. I use a dish about half the size of the recommended one, a box of the jiffy mix, large can of beans and a package of beef hot dogs and it turns out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
My family LOVED this! I doctored up the beans to our liking, and drained some of the juice off of them. Had no problems with leakage. Kids thought it was fabulous, hubby said it was a keeper! I served it with corn on the cob and a green salad. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odell, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marseilles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
This was awesome - I don't understand why some people didn't like it. If you like baked beans, cornbread and hot dogs (I used veggie hot dogs), you should love this. (If you don't, then why are you even considering it?!) One thing, though - when she tells you to cover the beans as completely as possible, she isn't kidding. I didn't have enough hot dogs and the sauce from the beans bubbled up through the cornbread, so it was kind of wet at the bottom and oozed out a little when I cut it into it. I just put it back in the oven for a few minutes and it was fine. But next time I may try that layer of grated cheese another reviewer suggested. As it is, my husband and I ate the whole thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This is GREAT to bring to a cookout or gathering. My 18 month old LOVED it and so did my husband. I used low fat hotdogs and it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley0809

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Super easy...kids loved the ingredients. I did add some brown sugar to the beans and for some reason I thought I needed a 2nd box of corn muffin mix (didn't look like enough). It was way too much! So stick to the one box. Also thought it could use more baked beans. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
My kiddos loved this! It's like a corn dog with baked beans! Very easy, cheap and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessi Steioff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I wasn't sure about this recipe as I started assembling it. Once it was done, boy was it delicious! I only used one package of hotdogs, and next time I'll use two. It tasted just like a corndog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Super easy and the pickiest child in the world actually ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States