Easy Cheap and Yummy Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
Great family recipe, everybody in the house ate it...even the picky ones! I added chopped jalapeno's to the corn bread part, used two boxes of jiffy corn bread mix, a 55oz can of Bush's homestyle beans to which I added chopped onion. It also only took about 1 1/2 pkgs of "Beef" hot dogs, sliced in about 1/4" slices to cover the top of the beans, baked it for 40 mins. in a 9x13 pan and this fed a family of 6. Great Recipe! Tastes like Corn dogs and baked beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Good and easy. I put one large can of Bush Beans on the bottom, shredded cheddar, 1 pkg hot dogs and cornbread mix. Put in 9 x 13 and baked about 30 minutes. Husband and son liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
This was awesome - I don't understand why some people didn't like it. If you like baked beans, cornbread and hot dogs (I used veggie hot dogs), you should love this. (If you don't, then why are you even considering it?!) One thing, though - when she tells you to cover the beans as completely as possible, she isn't kidding. I didn't have enough hot dogs and the sauce from the beans bubbled up through the cornbread, so it was kind of wet at the bottom and oozed out a little when I cut it into it. I just put it back in the oven for a few minutes and it was fine. But next time I may try that layer of grated cheese another reviewer suggested. As it is, my husband and I ate the whole thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I noticed some mixed reviews on measurements. I needed the recipe cut in half. I used 7 hot dogs cut up into 1/4" slices, 1 - 16.5 ounce can of Bushes original baked beans, 1 - 8.5 ounce box of Jiffy corn muffin mix. Cooked at 400 for 23 minutes. I did not cover with foil. Recipe yielded 4 servings. Casserole turned out really well. Husband really liked this recipe and I enjoyed it as well. I will probably use more baked beans next time as I like them alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Most disgusting thing that ever came out of my oven! The kids, and HUBBY, want it every day! They love it, don't expect leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morrison, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Agra, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
OK, I have to admit I ate some of this and it wasn't half bad (really). But it's a huge hit with the kids; and I like it because it's so easy I let them make it themselves. TIP: lean hotdogs are a must for this and adding an egg white to the cornbread lightens it up a bit too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRANQUILTREE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sedona, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Super easy...kids loved the ingredients. I did add some brown sugar to the beans and for some reason I thought I needed a 2nd box of corn muffin mix (didn't look like enough). It was way too much! So stick to the one box. Also thought it could use more baked beans. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
My family enjoyed this and we have made it twice since. I use a dish about half the size of the recommended one, a box of the jiffy mix, large can of beans and a package of beef hot dogs and it turns out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Totally pointless recipe. Might as well just make beanie weenie and cornbread, save yourself some time and oven energy. By the way, it does NOT taste like corndogs and baked beans; the cornbread does not have a strong enough flavor to create that effect. It tastes like beanie weenie. With cornbread. Tastes like a big pile of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Union City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
My family LOVED this! I doctored up the beans to our liking, and drained some of the juice off of them. Had no problems with leakage. Kids thought it was fabulous, hubby said it was a keeper! I served it with corn on the cob and a green salad. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odell, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marseilles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Tuna Casserole

This incredibly simple tuna casserole uses just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States