Easy Cheap and Yummy Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I made quite a few changes to this recipe, so I'm not too sure if my rating still applies. It was good. I added a layer of spinach (27oz can), a layer of shredded parmesan (approx. 3 oz), 3 whole green chiles (minced and combined with spinach prior to cooking,a dollop of sour cream to each serving, and here is my take: The spinach was a fantastic addition and the can only cost me 75 cents, however, I don't beleive the parmesan did anything for the meal. The chiles added flavor and took some of the hot dog potency away from the meal. The hot dogs were too much. Next time I make this I would like to use a different meat. And what I think was ther best addition to this meal was the sour cream. Good eatin'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craigpaulnowak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
hubby loved. quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya McGhee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tattooedsuess
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I thought that this was really tasty and super easy to make. I deviated a bit from the original recipe though. I used 1 package of hot dogs and 1 package of polish sausage. I also used 2 packages of corn bread instead of just 1. I also sprinkled some shredded cheese over the top of it once the rest of it was done baking. I'll also be adding some creamed corn to it the next time that we make it, as well as for leftovers this time. It seems a little dry without the creamed corn, but otherwise it's excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
The recipe title says it all-easy, cheap, and yummy! I think I only spent like $4.50 total on this meal. I did change the recipe a bit because I wanted to squeeze a veggie in there. I put in 2-28oz cans of Bush's Original Baked Beans, then a whole package of sliced hot dogs (8 total). For the topping, I mixed two boxes of Jiffy Cornbread mix with one egg, 1/3 cup milk, and 1 can of creamed corn. I baked it at 400 for about 40 minutes. It was very good! With the top the way I made it, it was almost a bit like one of my other favorite recipes from this site, Awesome and Easy Corn Casserole. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This is great if you are on a budget. I made it once, and my boyfriend really enjoyed having something different. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I made this a lot when I first moved out into my own studio apartment. Only difference was I added Frank's and if I had it, cheese and a drained can of corn. This makes a lot and is darn tasty for bein' cheap eats. Plus, little ones like it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was actually pretty good. I followed the recipe exactly. Next time I think that I will cover the top with my own corn muffin recipe instead of using boxed,I always find those to be dry. From this site, sweet corn muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyful1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Zumbrota, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I liked this casserole a lot, despite the weird ingredients. Adding kielbasa instead of just hotdogs adds an extra savory twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I had no expectations...this was really good...added a little onion on top of beans as well as a can of green chilies. threw some sharp cheddar over as well. used ballpark turkey hotdogs...flavor was really yummy...next time i'm going to try chili....SO EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHATTY304

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Very simple and very good. I made this as a "kid" dish at our house warming. All the adults looked at it like it was disgusting but a couple brave adults tried it and before I knew it everyone was eating it! It was the only dish I made that was completely gone by the end of the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittykat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States