Easy Cheap and Yummy Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Just like it sounds: Hubby liked it, 2-year-old liked it, I liked it. And it's cheap and OH SO EASY! I used the following: Ball Park franks because the recipe says the cornbread topping should not touch the beans, and Ball Park franks "plump when ya cook 'em"; Bush's Original baked beans; and Martha White yellow corn muffin mix, which was the only mix I could find that was the right size. While preparing it, I thought there would not be enough cornbread topping, but it turned out to be just right. We give it four stars only because we thought it was a little bit dry when made as directed in the recipe. Next time I will use more beans, or perhaps ones that are a little "juicier," like Van Camp's pork 'n' beans. Also, this was not quite as good when reheated as leftovers, but that might be because I used the microwave instead of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I didn't have baked beans, so I substitued with ranch style beans... and like some of the others I put shredded cheddar over the hot dogs... But I can imagine this being really good with the baked beans too... This was great, and I'm not a huge fan of hot dogs!! I'm eating this right now, as I leave this review, and I am already planning on going back for more! I will make this again, as it was easy, and very yummy! Great recipe! Glad I found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Yum! Used spicy cajun links, sauteed before putting them in the dish. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This turned out really good. I had my doubts, but it tasted pretty good. My kids liked it and have asked me to make again and my kids are very picky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I made this recipe with sliced smoke sausage instead of hotdogs. It was pretty good for a Tues. night last min. dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madenish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
So, this recipe is not fancy and even looks a little disgusting, but I have to confess it's kind of tasty. Big hit with the hubby!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Single mom with two teenage boys, and they loved it. I only made an 8x8 pan, used chili at the bottom since I didnt have beans. Made the cornbread from scratch, and it was a huge hit. I'll have to make a larger pan so we have leftovers next time! I'll be using this one over and over again...maybe add cheese to the cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This recipe is great when you don't have much time to cook, and it is especially great for children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Wow, suprisingly good. The whole meal only cost me $4.19. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cukatie2983

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
very good,put cheddar cheese on top of hotdogs(teens request)and this was destoryed in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Tuna Casserole

This incredibly simple tuna casserole uses just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States