Easy Cheap and Yummy Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This was good and easy, I give it 4 stars. We used "Grandma's Buttermilk Cornbread" recipe instead of Jiffy mix and I know this made it a LOT better. Don't be afraid to really put a lot of hotdogs in it because once it's done you'll want it kinda meaty. We also put a decent layer of shredded cheddar on top of the hotdogs which helped protect the cornbread mix from getting bean juice on it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eating Indy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Yum. Easy and tasty. I used two boxes of Jiffy mix because I couldn't cover the whole thing with one. I should of only cooked mine for 25-30 mins. The corn bread was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Fun, cheap and easy, as well as yummy. I changed up the recipe a little bit to use up some leftovers I had the night before when I made tacos. I used ground beef seasoned with taco spices in place of the hot dogs and I used a can of refried beans (the mashed kind) in place of the baked beans. I left everything else the same, cooked it up, then served it topped with sour cream, chopped tomatos and shredded lettuce! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I was intrigued but skeptical...I put it off but finally tried it. I have to say it was pretty darn good! Kids liked it, they had second helpings. Even my husband who doesn't like corn bread liked it. Cheap, easy and truly yummy! Go ahead!...give it a try...you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Hmmmm. I hate to be the giving a bad rating.... Since my bf was working late, I made half of XEKOLIARA's recipe for myself. Being that I am unemployed, and on a budget, this fit the bill perfectly (all ingredients cost under $5!!!). The fact that this is cheap and easy to prepare is deserving of 5 stars alone, but, unfortunately, I am not rating on these criteria (I am rating on taste as I usually do). My only changes were to use 1 (16 oz.) can of pork & beans (the only other size I could find were Campbell's 11 oz. cans) and the full package of Jiffy cornbread mix (I don't see the point in wasting half of it). Oh, and I sprinkled about 1/2 c. of finely shredded cheddar cheese on top of my casserole during the last 5 minutes of baking. I had high hopes, but was very disappointed with the end result. This casserole was DRY, the hot dogs had a "wierd" texture (almost too soft, IMHO) and my cornbread topping was VERY brown, despite baking it on the short end of the recommended time. Perhaps using two (11 oz.) cans of beans would help (i.e. add moisture)??? Since I have no kiddos to cook for (and my bf thought this sounded gross...), I won't be making this again. Sorry, but not for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This is a good recipe if served for it's intended audience; kids and men :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This is a good family recipe. It is inexpensive and easy to prepare. I enjoyed it as did the kids. My husband didn't care for it, but I will make it again anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Very good and simple. Very nice when you have no time to really cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherrycooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA
Living In: White House, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zanesmom06
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
The recipe was Very Good!! My husband and 2yr old thought is was good,even my teenage stepson went for seconds and that's saying something. I used only one package of bun length hotdogs and that was more than enough. The only thing I would change when I make it again would be to use two boxes of cornbread mix instead of one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zanesmom06

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Geneva, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jefferson, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States