Easy Cheap and Yummy Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Like one of the reviewers recommended, I also put a layer of cheddar over the layer of beans. It smelled wonderful; I made it for a friend who just had surgery. The next time I make it, I plan to add a layer of bacon between the beans and cheddar, and also make 1 1/2 boxes of cornbread, as the one box didn't coat the entire top of the casserole. It's too heavy for me, so I hope my friend and her family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This recipe is a great base for some very tasty meals. Some simple adjustments can turn this from simply cheap and filling to a much more palate-appeasing dish. Try spreading cheddar cheese on top of the cornbread or mincing up an onion with the hot dogs. There are plenty of minor adjustments that can add a world of flavor to this basic recipe. Love it! Couldn't be easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
It seemed like a good idea when I started. The corn bread covered, I had no "oozing" of the beans during baking, but I did not care for this! The beans hardly had any flavor and I used Bush Beans. They almost disappeared. Maybe if I used a tangier type of hot dog, but it was just so bland. I would say I'll try to add things next time to "Perk it up, but there will be no next time for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BettyBoop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Very good. We used only one package of hotdogs and cut them into little rounds. Maybe try with some shredded cheddar cheese next time too. But very good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evetsangel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Very good. Kids loved it and hubby too. Sort of sweet for my taste, but that is just me. I did make sure to use Beef hot dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I used 1 pkg of sweet apple chicken sausage, a can of Touch Of Honey Bush's beans, 1box Krusteaze Honey Cornbread Mix and baked all in an 8X8X3 baking dish for 50 minutes at 375. and This was one of the best meals I've ever fixed. Me and the hubbie polished of the entire pan. lol mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Like the recipe says this is very inexpensive and very easy. The kids ate it up. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This was just OK. I fed this to 5 kids and not a single one finished a serving. I used Jennie-O turkey dogs and store brand baked beans. Maybe all beef hotdogs would make it taste better but still wouldn't be worth the calories (not to mention the fat). Darn...I really wanted to like this one :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Photo by AndrewsCuteCook
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I did as some said and put a small amount of cheddar cheese between the beans and hotdogs. I actually halved the entire recipe and put it in a 8"x8" dish which worked well for my husband & I. SUGGESTION: Try using Chile Beans instead of Baked Beans. Chile beans makes it more like a chile & cornbread meal, and just better. I added extra spices to my can of Bush's Chile Beans (cumin, chile powder, and a little cayenne pepper)... it was good! Nothing I'd make if we had guests coming, but totally worth it for about $2 per person! Thanks, Xekoliara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I cook on Saturdays for the rest of the week. I made this casserole for the first time, and served it on Monday, and used slices beef smoke sausage instead. It kept very well for 2 days, the cornbread wasn't soggy as I had expected, and My whole family LOVED it! It was almost too easy! KEEPING this as a family favorite! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States