Easy Cheap and Yummy Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Easy, but not necessarily quick. It takes awhile to slice up the hot dogs and to then carefully arrange the slices so that the beans and cornbread don't touch. Could be a good activity to involve kids in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Kids LOVED it! I tried this out the first time with smoked turkey sausage instead of hot dogs. Added brown sugar and a bit of butter to the beans, but doubled the corn bread. Served with corn on a roll (what my kids call corn on the cob) and a side salad. It's truly Dinner. Done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shortii311

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasantville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This was good but not outstanding like I was expecting from the previous reviews. I altered it to make less: I used a 9x9 pan, 1 16 oz. can of original baked beans, 1 whole package of regular bun length hotdogs and 1 package of jiffy corn bread (mixed as directed on the box). I layered the beans and then all of the hot dogs, cut into 1/4 in slices (it made 2 full layers) and I did not have any problem with the cornbread being soggy. I baked on 400 for 30 minutes and cornbread was a perfect golden brown around the edges. Will make again but may try another flavor of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
My husband loves this dish. I make this after I make a homemade batch of baked beans (from this site). It helps me use up the left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I love it. The only thing I suggest is using one more can of beans and 2 Jiffy cornbread boxes. Hot sauce is great on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romania1977

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Taste is wonderful! The only thing I would suggest would be to double up on the beans. I made it exactly as the recipe states and it was a bit dry. With double the beans, it should be perfect! Will definitely make again!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dietnomore

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orange City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I call this corn dog casserole. My family loves it, it's perfect for my picky eaters. I used my own homemade sweet cornbread recipe instead of box mix. I used some leftover baked beans from our cookout and a 22 oz. can of bush's grilling sensation steakhouse beans. Yum. It took forever for me to cook it, over an hour. But that was my fault. Since I had less beans I used a 9x9 pan and it ended up filling to the very top with cornbread. I also started the first 45min at 375 degrees b/c that's what my cornbread recipe calls for. It was still liquid so I bumped the temp up to 425 and cooked it for about 20-30 min longer. I also used some shredded cheese it it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This is exactly like you think it would be - beanie weenies w/ cornbread. Not that this is a bad thing but it's not new either. Of course, the daughter and husband LOVED it - about as much as they like regular beanie weenies w/ cornbread on the side. ;) But it's a different way to present it and you can add other things like cheese, corn, onions, and/or other veggies that will be covered up by the corn bread. That's a plus for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Big hit in my house. We use deer sausage instead of hotdogs only because it's what we have in the freezer. I used a smaller dish because the 1 pkg of cornbread didn't cover the larger dish. Used 2 pkg of cornbread the first time to cover and it was just too much cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
It was as good as a hot dog based casserole could've been. This is a kid pleaser for sure. It's quick, easy, and cheap. It was a little salty for me, but processed meat always tastes that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States