Easy 'Charro' Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I almost followed the recipe! Hard for a chef to follow one completely, right? Instead of chipotle peppers I used seeded jalapeno. I used fresh beans instead of canned and boiled a ham on a bone I had left over from Christmas. I added about a teaspoon of cumin and two teaspoons of powder. I must say it was wonderful. I then cooked it in a 250 degree oven along with the pork shoulder for about 4 to 5 hours until fork tender. This is going to be wonderful as a burrito from the left overs for this evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jayjacksonpdx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This was super delicious. I tweaked it a little bit I didn't drain the beans which I feel gave the soup more flavor I didn't just use the partial bacon fat for the onions, ham and chorizo I used all the fat left and once everything was cooked a little I pour all the contents into the large pan to make the soup. That was basically the only things I changed but over all this was amazing thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Absolutely love this recipe! I would prefer it not to be as hot as it is but loved eating it in small portions. I will try to take some heat out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
My son love the Charros Beans, but I do not use the bacon drippings, the ham, the chipotle peper and the garlic. Instead of that I use dog sausage diced (2 packs of about 8 pieces, medium fried)4 tomatoes diced ( medium heat) and at last add 1 bunch of cilantro chopped when the beans mixture are boil. And enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I made this as a soup. My favorite Mexican restaurant has a charro bean soup. I did change the recipe because I was unable to find chipotle peppers without driving across town. I chopped the garlic and left it in the soup. Also, I added 2 tablespoons of cilantro, 1 teaspoon chicken bouillon, 1 - 14.5 oz can of diced fire roasted tomatoes salsa style and 5 cups of water. This was amazing. My husband and I both had 2nds and took it for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
excellent flavor. one of my favorite recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This was a cinch to make and was a big hit with my family! Love this dish! Great as a side or the main course. I added a little pepper and cumin for some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
These were great! I used dried pintos, soaked overnight, instead of the canned. Everything fit perfectly into a 4-qt. slow cooker. It took a little longer to soften than I would've liked (it smelled great, so I was impatient), but the final product was worth the wait. Fantastic on its own or w/ rice, which made it hearty enough to eat as a meal. Thanks, P!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joycesq

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Puente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I modified this recipe to fit what I had and our taste. I used 6 strips of bacon 1/2 pound jalepeno sausage cut in 1/4" slices 1 pound of dried pinto beans 1 poblano pepper 1/2 bunch of cilantro 1 teaspoon cumin I started the beans in a pot of boiling water for 30 minutes and then transfered them to a crock pot and cooked them all day with the garlic, pepper and cilantro. 30 minutes before the beans were finished I reserved 2 cups and mashed them with a potatoe masher returning them to the crock pot, then added all of the other ingredients and cooked it for the final 30 minutes. Of course I put the cooked bacon in the pot as well even though it does not have that in the recipe. I did not remove the garlic or pepper since they cooked in the crock pot all day and pretty much broke into tiny peices. The pot of beans was devoured and I am going to have to buy another large crock pot so I can double the recipe next time. This is a great recipe since it gives you all kinds of wiggle room to modify it to what you have on hand and your families taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States