Easy Challah Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This bread was super easy and Delicious! It did not get as dark as other challah I have seen before but it may have been because I brushed it with butter rather than egg , the color was very nice though especially after brushing it with butter a second time once I took it out of the oven... Although this was my first attempt at challah bread, I would have to say it was a HUGE success! Great addition to our Christmas meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I am not sure why this recipe has gotten such a bad rap. I have used it almost weekly for over a year now, and it has never failed me. I have even forgotten to add an ingredient, put it in out of order (eggs!) and it still came out lovely. It is very adaptable, meaning that you can put cinnamon and raisins in it, or sprinkle poppy or sesame seeds on top. SUPER easy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I have made this three times now and it comes perfect...It looks professional and tastes even better. I have added golden raisins which gives it a bit of a sweet taste. The raisins need to be dusted with flour before adding to dough. The finished product came golden brown on the outside (I used the egg wash) and light on the inside....not dense at all...The instructions could not be easier and if your bread didn't rise you either used too hot of water or your yeast was stale....Follow the recipe exactly and you should get a wonderful loaf of bread in short time. I made French toast with it the next day and if you don't add raisins it makes great grilled cheese....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I made this twice and both times it came out a little denser than I would've liked. But it came out beautifully both times - very impressive, pretty bread. People took pictures of it at the dinner we brought it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I thought a second rise after the loaf is braided would be a nice idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Loved this recipe. Add to add extra flour and was worried that it was rising right but it turned out great! I also cut the loaf in half because it was way to long Icookedit for less time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shasty
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I used my bread machine on dough setting and made it exactly according to directions. It was really sticky when it came out but used a few tbsp flour to make ropes and it worked great. We used the butter option to brush it, I did initially think that 1 tbsp wouldn't be near enough but it worked beautifully. If you do this by hand you really only need to keep your hands floured when kneading. The more flour you add the drier it is going to get. As to the "killing the yeast" comment in my opinion your yeast may be old...this is a standard temp for water to bloom the yeast in. Or maybe salt was added while it sat. When salt is added to yeast while it sets to bloom it can cause it to die. Instead add everything and don't let the yeast set or wait to add the salt when you add the flour. The honey (sugar) makes the yeast to grow. Made our whole house smell AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I used this as the base for a bread pudding and it was awesome in that. As a stand-alone bread, it was okay. I also was confused about how much flour to add in the kneading process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
The taste was alright but it was a bit too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This bread was beautiful and yummy, but was a bit drier than I prefer. I would give it 4 stars on taste and texture, however I gave it three stars because I found it misleading that it called for only 3 1/2 cups flour and didn't give any sort of approximation for the amount of flour needed during kneading. I didn't measure the flour that I added, but I would approximate it to be around an additional cup. The dough was smooth and elastic, and on the stickier side (I didn't want it to be dry). This recipe is nice and simple though- I'd make it again and add raisins and maybe some vanilla extract to make it sweeter. This bread can be eaten savory or sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States