Easy Caramelized Onion Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
This is a great recipe! For the seasoning salt I used Old Bay Spice. My husband was 2 hours late getting home from work so I just let the chops and onions simmer on low with the lid off. By the time we got around to eating the onions were carmelized to prefection and the chops were very tender. My husband asked that I keep the recipe and make again. I would reccommend for anyone making this recipe to simmer for atleast and hour or two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
Super easy to make, great flavor! I made it to take to my neighbors for dinner, and they praised it highly! I agree with the other reviewer, I think that step three should be to cook uncovered, which is what I did. There's no way one could cook away 1 cup of water in the stated 40 minute cooking time if left covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2002
These pork chops were really good even though they were a little bit salty. Next time I'll use the seasoned salt more sparingly. I also simmered them uncovered as other reviewers had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
I actually used this recipe on deer meat (thinking I had defrosted pork chops, I had deer chops instead). This was a very tasty dish! I didn't find it too salty, I don't know if that is a difference between the types of meat or not. I just lightly sprinkled seasoned salt and ground some pepper on each side. The recipe didn't say what size onion to use, and next time, I would use more - a large onion or two medium onions. The onion does cook down quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
This was an excellent recipe!! We didnt have any leftovers! The pork chops took alittle bit longer to cook than i would have liked but the outcome was wonderful! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rye, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
After reading the other reviews, I only added enough salt and pepper to lightly coat each side of the pork chops. After browning the meat, I just let it simmer in the onion mixture for about 45 minutes. It turned out absolutely WONDERFUL. I am NOT a pork chop fan, but I will definitely make this recipe again. These pork chops take a bit of time (not possible during the work week for me) but it's a "thumb's up" for the weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
I sprinkled less seasoning than the recipe, and added fresh garlic to the oil. My picky son ate a whole chop, then later ate another! The onions and broth went great with potatoes. Too bad there were none left for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
My husband and I greatly enjoyed this recipe. I used 1 inch center cut loin chops sprinkled with cajun seasoning. I also added a pinch of sugar to the water because my onions were really strong. As several other reviwers noted, cooking the chops uncovered in step three allows the liquid to reduce and the onions to caramelize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
Delicious! BUT, I think the second simmer is meant to be uncovered so the liquid can evaporate and onions camelize. About 10 minutes before they were done I had to boil down the liquid. I will definitely make these again, but I will uncover the skillet for the second simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
266 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheocon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Awesome. Simple. Quick. Delicious. This is the way I have always made pork chop. Suggestion: Add some soy sauce or oyster sauce for taste and colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 433) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States