Easy Caramelized Onion Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
My mother used to make pork chops like this only she always used juice for the liquid (from canned pears or peaches, or apple juice). I have continued the tradition. They are delicious! I think thin cut chops work best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I haven't tried this recipe but it's very similar to how I make my Pork Chops. I brown the chops first and remove them then put in onions, after they start to get soft I put the chops on top and add 1 envelope of Onion Soup mix and cover with water and let simmer for about 20 minutes. It makes a great gravy over mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Followed the recipe and it came out exactly as pictured, which is all I can ask for right? But I was still so proud of the way the pork turned out from this that I wanted to shout it from the rooftops! I was terribly afraid I was overcooking the pork and that it was going to be tough, especially because I use on sale meat which is usually tougher and less fatty anyway. However, the pork came out fork tender and juicy. I'm actually going to make it for a friend of the family this Christmas, who hasn't had pork in a long time because he has trouble eating tough meat! Now a small word about the onions. I did take the meat out of the pan to let the onions finish cooking down, just so they'd get that lovely brown and I did use two onions because I like them with a sprinkle of sugar on top, but I didn't think that altered the recipe enough to constitute posting a new recipe for it instead of a review. And as wonderful as the pork and onions were, I was serving it with some mashed potatoes so I did make a gravy from the pork and onion fond(?), with some chicken broth and a bit of flour. It came out lovely. I really do recommend this recipe for pork lovers to try! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Lily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I love this recipe and have made it several times, although I have substituted white wine for the water. It just gives it a wonderful extra flavor and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
SO FAST & EASY and so yummy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This was a huge hit! The only changes I made was to replace the water with beef bullion and increased the onions. Otherwise.....followed everything. The pork was so flavor able and moist! We cooked ours in a cast iron skillet to really get the brown and caramelized onions going. This is definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This was super easy and wonderful. I made it in my electric skillet and bam! it was done! I made it just as directed and wouldn't change a thing. I served it with low cal roasted sweet potato bites and it was the perfect meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Floyd Wheat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Easy & delicious. So much so my son looking at his meatless pork chop bone stated,"Oh how I wish I could have another one of you." These were fork tender. The only thing I did differently was floured mine then browned them in the skillet. Will definitely be my go to pork chop recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I often have trouble with dry pork chops, but these turned out tender and delicious. I also did the second simmer without the lid so the water would evaporate some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I changed things up a little bit. I dredged the pork in seasoned flour. (Seasoning Salt, Black Pepper and Smoked Paprika) Instead of water, I added a 10 oz can of chicken broth and 1/4 c. of Cognac. (White wine would have worked well also) I let the broth come to a slow boil and then simmered them with no lid. I had 8 Boneless Pork Chops and used 3 onions. This was a great idea and have no doubt that the original idea would have been great. Thought it only fair I too add my additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danisparkles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 447) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States