Easy Caramelized Onion Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
this was really good except for the amount of salt. also, i browned the pork chops, removed them from the pan and carmalized the onions for a few then added the pork chops and 1cup of chicken stock instead of water back to the pan and simmered for 20 mins coverd. then i took the lid off the pan and reduced the liquid till it was a nice sauce. the chops were nice and tender and the sauce was so yummy with potatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
DELICIOUS!! I made a few changes :) I lightly floured and salted the chicken and browned in oil. Then thinly sliced onion and covered chicken with the onions and added 1 cup apple juice and a pinch of sugar. Let the chicken and onions cook with lid on for about 20 minutes. Then, take lid off and let simmer uncovered for another 20-30 minutes or until onions are caramelized!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I am honestly not a very big fan of pork. However, this was so good! I simmered the chops in one cup of chicken broth instead of water and added some sugar to the onions in the last 10 minutes. It turned out absolutely delicious! My picky husband even loved it! I will definitely make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
My family loved these tasty pork chops and it was quick and easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I love this. It's so simple and flavorful, and I could eat the onions for dessert, seriously. One of my friends tried his hand at the recipe and added lemon pepper and garlic powder too, and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I have to give this just two stars as it is written because the amount of salt was so very excessive. It really ruined the meal for me and I did cut it back as it was based on other reviewers recommendations. Next time, I would go with 1 tsp of season salt, half a teaspoon of pepper for 6 (4 ounces each0 pork loins. That is less than a third of the seasoning the original receipe calls for! That is how salty it was as to me! and this is coming from someone who loves salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConnieWilson6

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Loved the idea but the execution wasn't what we hoped for. Flavor seemed lacking and because of simmering the onions (rather than how I normally caramelize them) they seemed to have an odd texture. Definitely edible but probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I am usually terrible at making pork chops, they come out dry, but these came out great. My husband who does not usually like pork chops liked these, too. Unfortunately, the kids wouldn't touch them, even without the onions. I made the changes suggested by the other reviewers - added a little sugar to help carmelize the onions and removed the pork chops to not overcook them. I also added a little chicken bouillion to the water for flavor, would like to try apple juice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom to Twins- Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Wonderful, will be adding this to my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 453) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States