Easy Caramelized Onion Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I love this. It's so simple and flavorful, and I could eat the onions for dessert, seriously. One of my friends tried his hand at the recipe and added lemon pepper and garlic powder too, and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I have to give this just two stars as it is written because the amount of salt was so very excessive. It really ruined the meal for me and I did cut it back as it was based on other reviewers recommendations. Next time, I would go with 1 tsp of season salt, half a teaspoon of pepper for 6 (4 ounces each0 pork loins. That is less than a third of the seasoning the original receipe calls for! That is how salty it was as to me! and this is coming from someone who loves salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConnieWilson6

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Loved the idea but the execution wasn't what we hoped for. Flavor seemed lacking and because of simmering the onions (rather than how I normally caramelize them) they seemed to have an odd texture. Definitely edible but probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I am usually terrible at making pork chops, they come out dry, but these came out great. My husband who does not usually like pork chops liked these, too. Unfortunately, the kids wouldn't touch them, even without the onions. I made the changes suggested by the other reviewers - added a little sugar to help carmelize the onions and removed the pork chops to not overcook them. I also added a little chicken bouillion to the water for flavor, would like to try apple juice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom to Twins- Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Wonderful, will be adding this to my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This was sooo gooood. I am the only one in my family that likes onions but they loved the taste of the pork. I thickened the juice into a gravy and served over mashed potatoes. My son poured the gravy over everything, loved it. I did not use all of the seasoning as it seemed to be too much. Very good recipe. will surely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
These chops came out amazingly tender and juicy; I didn't even need a knife to cut them, just a fork. I used chicken broth instead of water, stirred in a dash of brown sugar to the onions, and used extra virgin olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I agree with other reviewers that the second simmer needs to be with the lid off. Also, 20 mins may be a bit much on the second time around, but it surely didn't hurt them any! Hands down the best pork chops I've ever had...ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
As the recipe is...it's 3 stars max; but the way I doctored it up...it was like 10 stars! I used a pork rub to season before I browned the pork....then removed the chops once browned and sauteed the onions (2 yellow onions thinly sliced) with 1 tsp of sugar. Then added the pork back and added 1 cup of apple juice instead of water. Then followed the recipe. It was amazing! It was the first time I've made pork chops and actually wanted more than one! My husband ate 3!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Made it more than once, it is good every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 429) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States