Easy Caramelized Onion Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
My husband loved this and would give it a five. I thought it was very good and easy, but can't quite give it a five. I reduced the amount of salt and pepper and put some beef bullion in the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Fabulous and easy! I added fresh garlic while I was browning and reduced the amount of salt. As others have said, I too took off the lid for the remaining time and it took about 25 minutes. Served with buttery mashed potatoes and fresh string beans - yummy! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Outstanding dish!!! Easy to make and tastes great. Another example of how you get a great dish if you keep it simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Good, but "caramelized onions" are actually something very specific, this is just nice grilled onions. Rather basic recipe - good for a jumping off point
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aereish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Turned out great! Thanks for the easy, delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
These have potential - but I do agree with others that it is way too salty. I even cut down because I did read the other reviews. My pork chops were also dry (pretty much boiled for 30 minutes so I'm not surprised). I didn't have enough liquid for a gravy (because it boils down in the second step) so I just spooned the onions and sauce over the meat but there wasn't enough for potatoes. Perhaps for me I need a change in the cooking method - I do like the idea of carmelized onions over top, but I think next time I'll just fry the chops and prepare the onions separate. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
tender chops and the onions were great would be great with mashed potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holmen, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I made this recipe almost as written, with the only change being to substitute low sodium chicken broth for the water. It turned out beautiful - very easy preparation, and extremely tasty. The chops were tender and the onions were delicious! With our hectic work schedules, we are always looking for new ways to prepare quick weekday meals. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Oakley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Simple and yummy, husband is very happy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
this was really good except for the amount of salt. also, i browned the pork chops, removed them from the pan and carmalized the onions for a few then added the pork chops and 1cup of chicken stock instead of water back to the pan and simmered for 20 mins coverd. then i took the lid off the pan and reduced the liquid till it was a nice sauce. the chops were nice and tender and the sauce was so yummy with potatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 432) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States