Easy Caramelized Onion Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
My grandchildren always ask for this when they visit. I did adjust just one part and it may help someone else. After the pork chops are tender, remove to a heated plate. Leave the cover off the pan and sprinkle the onions with a little white sugar. The water will evaporate quickly and the onions will carmalize beautifully. Serve them on top of the chops and then make gravey in the same pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
548 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caledonia, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
Delicious! BUT, I think the second simmer is meant to be uncovered so the liquid can evaporate and onions camelize. About 10 minutes before they were done I had to boil down the liquid. I will definitely make these again, but I will uncover the skillet for the second simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
297 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheocon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
I received this wonderful recipe today in my Allrecipes.com daily recipe e-mail. Luckily, I had everything I needed on hand. It had just started cooking and my husband came into the kitchen to see what smelled so delicious! I used a skillet with a top that allows steam to escape (from Cook's Essentials line on QVC - wonderful products. I added garlic (early on) and mushrooms (at very end) like others here had suggested. I also added extra onion and would suggest a minimum of 2 - could be more if you like onions. The chops cooked so well with the steam able to "escape", that I did not have to leave the lid off at any time. End result???? An absolute winner!!!! I would use for company....... They were soooo good - this is the first I've taken the time to write a review. Enjoy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLYNNVIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Middle River, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
This was very good!!! My boyfriend is not a big fan of pork chops but he loved this. I browned the chops first, removed them from the pan, added the onions and a teaspoon of sugar. I carmalized the onions than added back the chops and used 1 cup of beef broth in place of the water. Excellent, will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keansburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Removed the pork chops and carmelized onion and added a bit of beef boullion to the water, plus some cornstarch, and brought it to a boil - thickened up nicely and made a great sauce to drizzle over the chops. Used salt & red pepper to coat chops and season onions. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahFriedman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
Soooo easy and so delicious. My husband, who says he doesn't like pork chops, really loved this dish. I followed the advice of other reviewers and used a little more onion (1 and 1/2 onions)as well as the advice to remove the chops after 40 minutes and then carmalizing the onions with a bit of sugar. I turned the heat up to speed up the carmalization. I will be using this recipe often and may try different herbs with it and also will try the suggestion of apple juice in place of water. I love recipes that are easy to try variations. I use many great recipes from this site and this one is a big winner with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
what a nice change from oven baked pork chops! i tood the advice from many of the reviewers and doubled the onion and used chicken broth instead of water. in addition i added some sliced red peppers for flavor and color. i also took the advice of taking the chops out of the pan after they have seared and returning them after the onions had carmelized. my husband and my father both loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
We really liked the flavor of these and the chops came nice and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This recipe gave me a good start for something new with pork chops. Here are the changes I made: I used pork loin chops, sprinkled them on both sides with salt, pepper, sweet paprika and cajun seasoning. I browned them on both sides in olive oil removed them from the pan, added a little more oil and added the onions. I sprinkled a little sugar over the onions and covered them to simmer for about 5 minutes. I uncovered them and continued cooking them until they turned a beautiful brown. Add the meat back in and cover with 2 cups of chicken broth and simmer for about 20-30 minutes. Right before I was ready to serve them, I removed the meat and onions, made a gravy with the liquid, put the meat and onion back in and after it all thickened up, I served it over white rice. YUM, YUM, YUM!!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnitaV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
Although I followed previous reviewers' suggestions to decrease the salt and pepper (I decreased the seasoning salt to 2 tsp. and decreased the pepper to 1 tsp.), it was still very salty and peppery for both my husband and myself. Otherwise I think it would have been a tasty dinner, but unfortunately the the saltiness and overwhelming pepper bite ruined it. I uncovered the pan in Step 3 as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 453) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States