Easy Caramelized Onion Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
This was tasty. I used creole seasoning instead of seasoned salt and it gave it a good kick. I think that in number 3 there is an error. It should read: UNCOVER and cook until water evaporates
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
This is a great recipe! For the seasoning salt I used Old Bay Spice. My husband was 2 hours late getting home from work so I just let the chops and onions simmer on low with the lid off. By the time we got around to eating the onions were carmelized to prefection and the chops were very tender. My husband asked that I keep the recipe and make again. I would reccommend for anyone making this recipe to simmer for atleast and hour or two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
Very good but will definitely cut back on the salt and pepper next time. I only used 2 tsp seasoned salt and 1 tsp pepper and it was still too peppery for the kids. Otherwise, it was a very good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
Super easy to make, great flavor! I made it to take to my neighbors for dinner, and they praised it highly! I agree with the other reviewer, I think that step three should be to cook uncovered, which is what I did. There's no way one could cook away 1 cup of water in the stated 40 minute cooking time if left covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
Although I followed previous reviewers' suggestions to decrease the salt and pepper (I decreased the seasoning salt to 2 tsp. and decreased the pepper to 1 tsp.), it was still very salty and peppery for both my husband and myself. Otherwise I think it would have been a tasty dinner, but unfortunately the the saltiness and overwhelming pepper bite ruined it. I uncovered the pan in Step 3 as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
Nice and easy without a lot if ingredients. Be careful not to over cook as the pork does dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLACKVELVETRAV

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
I only used half the seasoning salt and the pork chops were still a little salty. I will make the dish again but with a few changes. Next time I will omit the seasoning salt and just rub the chops with good old salt & pepper. I would also suggest simmering for at least an hour and using 2 onions. The onions reduced so much there weren't enough to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
Very tasty! My husband who always thought he hated pork chops, loved them. I altered it a bit by doing a quick marinade of worcestershire, soy sauce, horseradish, mustard, and garlic before hand. It made a great gravy too. I definitley recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
Very tasty.....used less salt.....added muchrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2002
These pork chops were really good even though they were a little bit salty. Next time I'll use the seasoned salt more sparingly. I also simmered them uncovered as other reviewers had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 432) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States