Easy Canned Venison Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Rather than salt, I use 2 bouillon cubes, as they are mostly salt, and add a little flavor. (I do quart jars). Some jars get a few mushrooms added as well. 4 or five jalapeno slices add a nice mild heat and great flavor. No need to be shy with the garlic either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This is my familys favorite way to eat venison. I use this to make stew which is so easy with this canned venison compared to fresh. I also use it with gravy over noodles or rice. I use quart jars and at my altitude, 90 minutes is recommended by the manufacturer of my canner. I use onion soup mix and garlic to coat the cubes before they go in the jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
We rave about this all the time. My husband is great at it. My kids love the meat! It works out great during the week. Open up a jar, heat it up in a few minutes in a pan, and throw it on top of noodles or rice or mashed potatoes. The meat is tender and does NOT have a wild taste at all. Its great to have in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Very close to my recipe. I can both pint and quart jars so I can make a meal for 2 or bigger meals without opening extra cans. I use the meat with egg noodles, some canned veggies(from our garden) a chopped onion and a little beef base. Best plate of food ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Easy as 1, 2, 3...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica_Farr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olean, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
We love this recipe, I put a tsp of soup base in the bottom of the jar,salt, garlic clove and onion.It lasts for years. I know some govt. agency says only keep for a year but my family has been canning for my whole life (60) and we have just eaten some stroganoff that the jar was dated 2004.This is the best way to eat venison year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Killbuck, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This is a great simple recipe for canning venison. However, I don't normally put anything but salt and pepper in my jars when I can it. I don't even season the meat before I pack the jars either. The venison rarely needs any extra seasonings at all as its delicious all on its own. If you want to season it, I would season it when you cook it rather then when canning it. Also, I don't have a pressure cooker so I water bath mine for 3 hours instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsmarie04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, New York, USA
Living In: Madrid, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I love this recipe but I do add one clove garlic per quart jar adding equal amount spices, onion,peppers divided up for each jar for more exact flavor. Makes excellant sandwich spread when you open a canned jar up pour into a bowl just add mayo or miracle whip what ever is your favorite and pickle relish mix to combine slather onto your favorite bread and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I'm not the biggest fan of venison, but this recipe is delicious. We got an old buck this year and I was concerned it might be too game-y. I mostly followed the recipe (without the peppers), but I didn't mix the meat and spices in a bowl first. It produces so much liquid that the spices get well-mixed during the canning process. I used quart jars (must process for 90 minutes). I placed the cubed venison in the jars with some onion and a few garlic cloves on top. I sprinkled the salt and pepper on top of that. I used 1 teaspoon for the quart and found it to be almost a little too salty, so the next time I made it, I used slightly less than 1 tsp. It's not the most attractive concoction in a clear jar, but it's really tasty and tender. We gave some to a friend who absolutely loved it. We've used it as is and mixed with bbq sauce, seasoned black beans, or a canned tomato/black-eyed pea mix. It's very versatile. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
You don't state what size jar you are using, pints? If so, quarts should be processed for 90 minutes, correct?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junkerjunk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States