Easy Candy Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
I loved this recipe!! The flavor of the sweet potatoes and the caramel was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
I made this using canned yams (i drained the syrup from them first) and it still turned out wonderful... and even faster to cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
This is delicious. I use Marzetti's Caramel Apple Dip for the topping and the rest the same. Everyone had at least seconds on my first try. Used fresh yams but am sure canned would be good too. I don't even like yams but love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
Excellent and easy. With veggies like this, who needs dessert? Works fine with canned yams, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
Too messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
This recipe was very easy and VERY good. Thank you Sara for sharing it with all of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
This dish was the hit of Thanksgiving dinner. Everyone wants this recipe. There was nothing left for leftovers. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
I made this last year with canned yams, and ended up with way too much liquid for my pan. Maybe I didn't drain the yams, who knows. Still good, will try again sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
I'm giving this rating for how it tasted after I made a few changes. The recipe doesn't specify whether the yams should be cooked or not; mine weren't and were still hard after 45 minutes of cooking. So I would recommend precooking. I also felt that the recipe had WAY too much butter, so I poured alot of it off as well. But after cooking what I had left in the microwave until the potatoes were soft, I mashed them with the butter and caramel sauce left in the pan, put marshmellows on top and cooked them in the oven for the last 10 minutes. They were delicious!!! The best candied yams I've ever made--they disappeared very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALERETTE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
I love this recipe. It is super easy and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States