Easy Candy Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Excellent! Very rich and rewarding. However, along from the other reviewers suggestions, I must stress DO NOT USE BUTTER. You will wind up pouring it off, its not needed at all except to butter the dish. Also, a tip, if you travel with this dish, dont add the marshamllows until you get to your destination and throw it into the oven to warm it up. I baked mine in the morning and let the dish completely cool before traveling and the marshmallows still melted, so we didnt have a yummy gooey topping for mine. Dont do them until RIGHT before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Super easy, tasty, and a wonderful side dish to your holiday meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
They were very good when I followed other people's comments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This is the best yam recipe ever!!! I used canned yams, so there was no problem with undercooking them. I believe I used all the butter, but you don't really need to, it would be fine with less or none at all. I made these to take to Thanksgiving dinner last year, and have been asked to make them again this year. (High praise- this was for my in-laws, they are a tough crowd.) I did one pan with marshmallows, and one without. I like them better without. I used the thick caramel dip for apples (Marzetti's or something like that?) and it was easy and heavenly. I made more for myself afterwards and ate them like dessert. Thanks you for these yams o' goodness! One of my favorite recipes ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Payson, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Perfect! Exactly what I was looking to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lewiston, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
When I found this recipe on here I was really excited because I love caramel and I knew this would be wonderful. I made this recipe last year and everyone loved it. I am making them again this year, but this time I am going to try mashing them. Not sure which is best, but I suppose it's just a matter of preference. I will not ever use another recipe for sweet potatoes or yams ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Fantastic! I used canned yams and mashed them and also added toatsed pecans. They were perfection!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dippitydonut

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I used canned yams and only half the butter. My family loved them and asked that I always make this for Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henryetta, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Jasper, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This was so easy to make. I had 14 people for Thanksgiving, everyone from adults to children just loved it. I would however suggest the following changes. I fully cook fresh yams and then mash them adding the rest of the indredients and briefly putting them under the broiler until the marshmellows are lightly browned. I will make this on every holiday thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
Overall, very good. It was a little soupy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States