Easy Candy Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Karisma
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
Okay, this recipe has potential it is divine but it needs MAJOR re-writing. First off, get a bigger dish 9x9 doesnt even have to be square.Use cooked yams or canned yams (drained) and increase the 4 cups to about 6 or 7. Mash them...not chop. Leave out the butter (unless greasing the sides of your dish to keep the marshmallows from sticking. Double the amount of marshmallows and Broil them under a guarded eye for a heavenly browning. Do this and the dish will be the best thing you ever tasted. If not then you will get a big bowl of uncooked potatoes swimming in grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
I give these four stars for taste and one for the directions. Having never made candied yams before, I didn't know what is apparently obvious to the pro-this recipe calls for CANNED sweet potatoes. I naively chopped fresh sweet potatoes and THREE HOURS (not 30 minutes) later, they were delicious! Please, avoid my frustration. If you are not a yam-making pro, remember, either cook the potatoes first, or use canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This was so easy to make. I had 14 people for Thanksgiving, everyone from adults to children just loved it. I would however suggest the following changes. I fully cook fresh yams and then mash them adding the rest of the indredients and briefly putting them under the broiler until the marshmellows are lightly browned. I will make this on every holiday thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
These instructions seriously stink. I have never used allrecipes.com before, so I didn't know to check the review before making them. I used fresh yams instead of canned. I think this is a pretty important element to include in the instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
I'm giving this rating for how it tasted after I made a few changes. The recipe doesn't specify whether the yams should be cooked or not; mine weren't and were still hard after 45 minutes of cooking. So I would recommend precooking. I also felt that the recipe had WAY too much butter, so I poured alot of it off as well. But after cooking what I had left in the microwave until the potatoes were soft, I mashed them with the butter and caramel sauce left in the pan, put marshmellows on top and cooked them in the oven for the last 10 minutes. They were delicious!!! The best candied yams I've ever made--they disappeared very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALERETTE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
I made this using canned yams (i drained the syrup from them first) and it still turned out wonderful... and even faster to cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I used canned yams and only half the butter. My family loved them and asked that I always make this for Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henryetta, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
I made these for my husband on Thanksgiving. He loved them. I used the canned yams instead of fresh, and this dish was ready in a snap--which is really great for those of us stuck in the kitchen on Thanksgiving day. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Fantastic! I used canned yams and mashed them and also added toatsed pecans. They were perfection!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dippitydonut

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Excellent! Very rich and rewarding. However, along from the other reviewers suggestions, I must stress DO NOT USE BUTTER. You will wind up pouring it off, its not needed at all except to butter the dish. Also, a tip, if you travel with this dish, dont add the marshamllows until you get to your destination and throw it into the oven to warm it up. I baked mine in the morning and let the dish completely cool before traveling and the marshmallows still melted, so we didnt have a yummy gooey topping for mine. Dont do them until RIGHT before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States