Easy Candy Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
I'm giving this rating for how it tasted after I made a few changes. The recipe doesn't specify whether the yams should be cooked or not; mine weren't and were still hard after 45 minutes of cooking. So I would recommend precooking. I also felt that the recipe had WAY too much butter, so I poured alot of it off as well. But after cooking what I had left in the microwave until the potatoes were soft, I mashed them with the butter and caramel sauce left in the pan, put marshmellows on top and cooked them in the oven for the last 10 minutes. They were delicious!!! The best candied yams I've ever made--they disappeared very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALERETTE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
I made this last year with canned yams, and ended up with way too much liquid for my pan. Maybe I didn't drain the yams, who knows. Still good, will try again sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
This dish was the hit of Thanksgiving dinner. Everyone wants this recipe. There was nothing left for leftovers. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
This recipe was very easy and VERY good. Thank you Sara for sharing it with all of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
Too messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
Excellent and easy. With veggies like this, who needs dessert? Works fine with canned yams, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
This is delicious. I use Marzetti's Caramel Apple Dip for the topping and the rest the same. Everyone had at least seconds on my first try. Used fresh yams but am sure canned would be good too. I don't even like yams but love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
I made this using canned yams (i drained the syrup from them first) and it still turned out wonderful... and even faster to cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
I loved this recipe!! The flavor of the sweet potatoes and the caramel was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-39 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States