Easy Candy Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Way to sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
These are the best, absolutely yummy, the only yams I have found that I like. I doubled the recipe and people were fighting to lick the dish. Next time, I will quadruple the recipe and hope I can get seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
my kids dislike yums but loved this recipe..****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oscoda, Michigan, USA
Living In: Homosassa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
Very good - I have made this recipe 3 times, and each time there seems to be a bit much 'sauce' but still super tasty and easy! My fiance who has never cooked more than a grilled cheese sandwich has actually made this all by himself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
I made these for my husband on Thanksgiving. He loved them. I used the canned yams instead of fresh, and this dish was ready in a snap--which is really great for those of us stuck in the kitchen on Thanksgiving day. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
I give these four stars for taste and one for the directions. Having never made candied yams before, I didn't know what is apparently obvious to the pro-this recipe calls for CANNED sweet potatoes. I naively chopped fresh sweet potatoes and THREE HOURS (not 30 minutes) later, they were delicious! Please, avoid my frustration. If you are not a yam-making pro, remember, either cook the potatoes first, or use canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karisma
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
Okay, this recipe has potential it is divine but it needs MAJOR re-writing. First off, get a bigger dish 9x9 doesnt even have to be square.Use cooked yams or canned yams (drained) and increase the 4 cups to about 6 or 7. Mash them...not chop. Leave out the butter (unless greasing the sides of your dish to keep the marshmallows from sticking. Double the amount of marshmallows and Broil them under a guarded eye for a heavenly browning. Do this and the dish will be the best thing you ever tasted. If not then you will get a big bowl of uncooked potatoes swimming in grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Rave reviews from the sweet potato eaters at Thanksgiving. Definitely drain canned potatoes. I used half the caramel & only @ 3T butter! Thanks for the recipe Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
I had never ever made sweet potatoes before, even yams for that matter. This recipe was perfect for my first Christmas with my boyfriend...now my fiance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
I love this recipe. It is super easy and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States