Easy Candy Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Excellent! Very rich and rewarding. However, along from the other reviewers suggestions, I must stress DO NOT USE BUTTER. You will wind up pouring it off, its not needed at all except to butter the dish. Also, a tip, if you travel with this dish, dont add the marshamllows until you get to your destination and throw it into the oven to warm it up. I baked mine in the morning and let the dish completely cool before traveling and the marshmallows still melted, so we didnt have a yummy gooey topping for mine. Dont do them until RIGHT before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Super easy, tasty, and a wonderful side dish to your holiday meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
They were very good when I followed other people's comments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This is the best yam recipe ever!!! I used canned yams, so there was no problem with undercooking them. I believe I used all the butter, but you don't really need to, it would be fine with less or none at all. I made these to take to Thanksgiving dinner last year, and have been asked to make them again this year. (High praise- this was for my in-laws, they are a tough crowd.) I did one pan with marshmallows, and one without. I like them better without. I used the thick caramel dip for apples (Marzetti's or something like that?) and it was easy and heavenly. I made more for myself afterwards and ate them like dessert. Thanks you for these yams o' goodness! One of my favorite recipes ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Payson, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Perfect! Exactly what I was looking to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lewiston, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
When I found this recipe on here I was really excited because I love caramel and I knew this would be wonderful. I made this recipe last year and everyone loved it. I am making them again this year, but this time I am going to try mashing them. Not sure which is best, but I suppose it's just a matter of preference. I will not ever use another recipe for sweet potatoes or yams ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Fantastic! I used canned yams and mashed them and also added toatsed pecans. They were perfection!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dippitydonut

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I used canned yams and only half the butter. My family loved them and asked that I always make this for Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henryetta, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Jasper, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This was so easy to make. I had 14 people for Thanksgiving, everyone from adults to children just loved it. I would however suggest the following changes. I fully cook fresh yams and then mash them adding the rest of the indredients and briefly putting them under the broiler until the marshmellows are lightly browned. I will make this on every holiday thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
Overall, very good. It was a little soupy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States