Easy Candy Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
These are so good! The caramel made the sweet potatoes so rich! I mashed the sweet potatoes with the sugar, a little milk, and 2 TBSP of butter. Then, I swirled caramel into them and baked them, stirring once about 20 minutes in to mix in the caramel with the potatoes better. Then, I broiled it with the marshmallows on top. I accidentally burnt the marshmallows during the chaos of multitasking during Thanksgiving, but it gave it a "campfirey" taste that I enjoyed. Next time, I'm sure I'll get them golden brown … This was amazing! I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ponytail Goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Loved it!! The only thing I would change is the amount of butter; was a bit runny after cooking. Next time, I will try using about 1/2 of the butter, maybe a little less of the caramel sauce too! So delicious, family LOVED it! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Super easy and very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Tried this recipe last Thanksgiving and it was a huge hit. Cooking it again today for Thanksgiving. I'm not a huge fan of candied yams but after tasting this I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
My family raved about this recipe! I rate according to if my kids and husband get seconds or if I have to throw it out. Nothing was left. Thanks for the recipe, Sal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorna129

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This was a great recipe, but does not need any butter AT ALL. I cut the butter in half and was still scooping it off the top. I used canned potatoes, chopped them up a bit and then topped it with caramel sauce, butter brown sugar and marshmallows. After the butter sludge was gone, it was FABULOUS! Very easy recipe. Next time I will probably mix the caramel and potatoes more, and add some pecans on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallmadge, Ohio, USA
Living In: Copley, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I was not a huge fan of these candied yams...and here's why. The brown sugar along with the caramel (I only added about half of the caramel) was WAY too sweet for me and my family. Also, as some other reviews have said, the amount of butter listed in the recipe made them absolutely swimming in grease. So, if you love melted butter and super syrupy sweetness, make them as the recipe states. Otherwise, I would suggest cutting the caramel down to just 1/4 of the jar, half the amount of butter, and add some pumpkin pie spice for flavor, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This is a great recipe, I was surprised at negative reviews regarding instructions, you do have to start with cooked potatoes, but you do for almost all recipes like this. You can use canned or fresh, and sweet potatoes or yams have not seemed to have an impact on recipe. I cook mine in 400 degree oven, just rub a little oil first over skin of Potato, cook for just about an hour. They will be soft inside when you squeeze them. Let them cool a bit, 30 minutes or so, and the remove skin and rough chop, then follow the instructions. Marshmallows cook quick so keep eye on them or just put under broiler for a couple minutes. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This was actually a very good recipe. I had to cook my sweet potatoes for 2 1/2 hrs before they were soft enough to eat but it was worth the wait per my husband and kids. We all loved the flavor the caramel gave to the dish along with the melted marshmellows. I did sprinkle 2 tbls more brown sugar on top and periodically stirred the potates during the cooking time to make sure the caramel sauce was evenly coated. This is a KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Always wanted to make candied yams...this was really easy and delicious...I got a little shy about using so much caramel..thought it would be too sweet...turned out very good and buttery...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States