Easy Cajun Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
A total hit with my family including 6,7, and 8 year olds. I used chipotle chili pepper instead of cayenne pepper, red instead of green pepper, and added corn and peas. I also used my food processor to mince onion and a cup of spinach (to sneak it some more vegetables). We used the hot sauce on the side to add more heat for only those who wanted to. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This recipe is really good! I also added a can of diced tomatos with chilis. Be careful doing this as it can make the rice seize up and not get totally soft. Be sure to add this after the rice is mostly already cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I love this dish and so does my family. Just the right amount of spice. Nothing too hot. I did leave out the celery and bay leaves. I also added 1 can of diced tomatoes. By making sure I use the same brands everytime I make it, the taste stays consistent! My father says this is the best thing I've ever made and loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Love this recipe! This is the 2nd time I'm making it in 3 weeks. Had to tone down the pepper for my family, and left out the Worcestershire sauce. Used a really nice quality chicken andouille sausage for this and it added a lot. I also grind some black pepper in because I think it adds a lot. Had some fresh thyme this week and so added a few sprigs with the chicken - I'll take it out at the end. It's funny that so many people comment that it has too much rice - I guess we're just rice lovers, because we were glad we finally had a recipe with enough rice! When you don't add as much hot sauce, the flavor of whatever sausage you use really comes through, so pick something that has a good flavor. this is definitely a go-to recipe for mid-week! and I love all the leftovers - it's enough for a 2nd meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
It could have used a little something....maybe a can of diced tomatoes? Overall a good dish though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I wasn't impressed at all...it just tasted like rice and chicken broth. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Randle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
So good! Just needs a little more spice but really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryerin711
Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I had to make a huge pot of jambalaya for a fundraiser today. I used this recipe and was shocked at how good it turned out. I did alter with using instant rice. For every 1 cup of liquid, use 1 cup of instant rice. Mix it in at the same moment u mix it in according to the recipe. Turned out PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sparkle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
i made the recipe in my work. was excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandoval

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Made this for the second time last night; it's perfect for those who cannot eat tomatoes. It makes enough to feed a family of 4 twice! I made the rice separately (using chicken broth) and I used a whole carton of chicken stock in the jambalaya; let it cook down a little bit, and the rice was still perfect. I doubled the celery and sausage, using half boudain and half kielbasa, and I also added a cubed yellow squash, fresh mushrooms, and a cubed small zucchini to add some veggies to this one-dish meal. Even though I forgot to add the last 2 ingredients, the family still enjoyed it; hubs had seconds. Served with large biscuits. I have now deleted the other jambalaya recipes from my recipe box, and this is the only one I'll use. Thanks for the post, Grant Michel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 71-80 (of 467) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States