Easy Cajun Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Love this recipe! This is the 2nd time I'm making it in 3 weeks. Had to tone down the pepper for my family, and left out the Worcestershire sauce. Used a really nice quality chicken andouille sausage for this and it added a lot. I also grind some black pepper in because I think it adds a lot. Had some fresh thyme this week and so added a few sprigs with the chicken - I'll take it out at the end. It's funny that so many people comment that it has too much rice - I guess we're just rice lovers, because we were glad we finally had a recipe with enough rice! When you don't add as much hot sauce, the flavor of whatever sausage you use really comes through, so pick something that has a good flavor. this is definitely a go-to recipe for mid-week! and I love all the leftovers - it's enough for a 2nd meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
It could have used a little something....maybe a can of diced tomatoes? Overall a good dish though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I wasn't impressed at all...it just tasted like rice and chicken broth. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Randle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
So good! Just needs a little more spice but really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryerin711
Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I had to make a huge pot of jambalaya for a fundraiser today. I used this recipe and was shocked at how good it turned out. I did alter with using instant rice. For every 1 cup of liquid, use 1 cup of instant rice. Mix it in at the same moment u mix it in according to the recipe. Turned out PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sparkle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
i made the recipe in my work. was excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandoval

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Made this for the second time last night; it's perfect for those who cannot eat tomatoes. It makes enough to feed a family of 4 twice! I made the rice separately (using chicken broth) and I used a whole carton of chicken stock in the jambalaya; let it cook down a little bit, and the rice was still perfect. I doubled the celery and sausage, using half boudain and half kielbasa, and I also added a cubed yellow squash, fresh mushrooms, and a cubed small zucchini to add some veggies to this one-dish meal. Even though I forgot to add the last 2 ingredients, the family still enjoyed it; hubs had seconds. Served with large biscuits. I have now deleted the other jambalaya recipes from my recipe box, and this is the only one I'll use. Thanks for the post, Grant Michel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I used chicken polska kielbasa for the meat, used brown rice, and added squash, zucchini squash, and diced tomatoes for more veggies. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
The jambalaya had a nice amount of spice, and generally I liked the taste, but even though I increased the amount of the meats, I still thought there was too much rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I used red, orange and yellow bell peppers since I don't care for green. Added a can of diced tomatoes and a can of kidney beans. I also added a heaping tablespoon of Cajun seasoning, as I felt it was needing a little extra something. Turned out to be a hit at my Mardis Gras dinner party with crusty bread and crab cakes with mixed greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States