Easy Cajun Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Bonnie I
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I can not eat tomatoes, so I was looking for a recipe without tomatoes, and this was the first one that popped up. What a great recipe! We used shrimp and chicken; easy to make and very delicious. We used brown rice instead of white rice (gluten-free). We made it spicy with fresh jalapeno peppers. I will continue to make this recipe, we ate the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
My rice didn't cook well and it lacked colour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This was delicious. I did add a can of diced tomatoes. Hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I had to add a lot more ingredients to make this meet my expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Pretty good. I followed some of this recipe and a Johnsonville's Sausage recipe I found while clipping coupons. Seems pretty tasty following both recipes. I did cook my rice separate from other items. I wish I had some chicken or shrimp to add but next time. I made beans and rice on side anyway for meals later in the week. I am going to make something with sweet potatoes to offset the spice of the jambalaya and beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJWEYERMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Very good recipe. Only gave it 4 stars because I never made it exactly as it is outlined in the recipe. Don't care for celery or very spicy food, so I made sure it was more tame for my tastes and used chicken & beef stock instead as well. Basically, I used this recipe as a base for my own version. But it was a great recipe base to start with and to add your own flavors to suit your needs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Wow this was so good! I used 1 tb Tony Chacheres creole seasoning in place of the salt and pepper and omitted the hot sauce (the kids). I only used turkey kielbasa as that is all I had on hand. I cooked the rice (brown rice) separate and added near the end. I also added a can of red beans and rotel tomatoes. Turned out too spicy for the kids but the adults loved it. Will def make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
This was delish! I added about a half a pack of chopped bacon to it! You can never go wrong with adding bacon to something. I left out the celery as we aren't fans of the flavor, and added some (about a tablespoon) creole. I will for sure save this recipe for another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Oh my! This is one fabulous recipe for jambalaya! The only thing I changed was that I used andouille sausage instead of of kielbasa. Being Polish, I believe that the kielbasa changes it all because of the seasoning & smokiness. I think I will add tomatoes next time for more tanginess & a tomatoey flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This is an easy and very flavourful jambalaya.. It would be a great base for many versions of this classic dish. We added the cayenne, some 'Cajun garlic' we had bought in Charleston, SC at the market, and liberally splashed tobasco all over it. There was a bit of heat, actually a nice bit of heat! I think tomatoes would add to this, otherwise, it's perfect. I couldn't believe all that flavour came from a few basic ingredients. Again, I think recipes need to be adaptable to the cook's tastes and moods. This recipe fits the bill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 467) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States