Easy Cajun Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This was a 4 or 4 1/2 star recipe. I follow the directions exactly, and while it was finishing cooking I realized, "This doesn't have any color." Having never made jambalaya before I didn't realize that it is supposed to have tomato something in it. Well, I added a 6oz. can of tomato paste, and tinkered around with the spices (personal preference) and it was AMAZING!! Adding that can of tomato paste brought it up to a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogers, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carms
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Super easy and full of flavor! I added a small can of tomato sauce and used turkey sausage (already cooked), and brown rice instead. It was still delicious and i was amazed how much flavor i was able to cook up in such a short amount of time. I cooked the rice in a rice cooker while the veggies were cooking and then added it at the end with the bay leaves, tomato sauce, hot sauce, and Worcestershire sauce. if you are looking for a quick and easy but exciting recipe, try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
My husband is Cajun and I find it hard to please him with some recipes I have tried. This one NAILED it! Easy to prepare and very flavorful. If you want more heat, I suggest more Tabasco. Otherwise, for those of us who like flavor, but not the heat, this is perfect as is! Thank you for sharing! This is now a go- to recipe for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I was looking for a recipe to use up some cooked rice I had leftover and a package of kielbasa. Had never eaten jambalaya before and wasn't sure I'd like it very well. I was very pleasantly surprised! Our food budget was extremely tight, so I omitted the shrimp and chicken and added another bell pepper (and some diced green chiles). Couldn't get over how awesome this tasted! Will definitely be making this again, and probably very soon. Next time I will do as others suggested and add a can of diced tomatoes with chiles. Can't wait to taste it with shrimp in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I have already reviewed this once, but I wanted to add that I use zattarians (sp?) jambalaya rice mild and original mix. One box of each. Rather than plain white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Love this recipe! We add shrimp to make it a three meat masterpiece. I often find 4 cups of chicken stock is a bit much. Three cups also works. I also leave the hot pepper sauce out and make it available at the dinner table so the kids can eat it too without it being too spicy. This is a family favorite. Oh, and we use turkey kielbasa which is delicious and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
served at family gathering and everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I have a big family with many teenagers. This was a success with everyone. All I had was smoked sausage, but it worked fine. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manlius, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sjoyfish
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I really liked this recipe! It was super fast, easy steps, and convenient ingredients we can all find in the pantry. Two little complaints: It was pretty bland as is, therefore once it was doctored up with Louisiana Hot Sauce & Tony's it was much better! And - using white chicken pieces (breast meat) is just too dry. It would have been much improved if it were dark meat (maybe thighs). Maybe even a shredded rotisserie chicken would have been better. Otherwise - a definite winner, and will repeat in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bonnie I
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I can not eat tomatoes, so I was looking for a recipe without tomatoes, and this was the first one that popped up. What a great recipe! We used shrimp and chicken; easy to make and very delicious. We used brown rice instead of white rice (gluten-free). We made it spicy with fresh jalapeno peppers. I will continue to make this recipe, we ate the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 446) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States