Easy Cajun Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Made this for the second time last night; it's perfect for those who cannot eat tomatoes. It makes enough to feed a family of 4 twice! I made the rice separately (using chicken broth) and I used a whole carton of chicken stock in the jambalaya; let it cook down a little bit, and the rice was still perfect. I doubled the celery and sausage, using half boudain and half kielbasa, and I also added a cubed yellow squash, fresh mushrooms, and a cubed small zucchini to add some veggies to this one-dish meal. Even though I forgot to add the last 2 ingredients, the family still enjoyed it; hubs had seconds. Served with large biscuits. I have now deleted the other jambalaya recipes from my recipe box, and this is the only one I'll use. Thanks for the post, Grant Michel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I used chicken polska kielbasa for the meat, used brown rice, and added squash, zucchini squash, and diced tomatoes for more veggies. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
The jambalaya had a nice amount of spice, and generally I liked the taste, but even though I increased the amount of the meats, I still thought there was too much rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I used red, orange and yellow bell peppers since I don't care for green. Added a can of diced tomatoes and a can of kidney beans. I also added a heaping tablespoon of Cajun seasoning, as I felt it was needing a little extra something. Turned out to be a hit at my Mardis Gras dinner party with crusty bread and crab cakes with mixed greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I skipped the chicken and added shrimp at the very end. It was delicious! I put it in the crock pot because the rice was not done in 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Never had jambalaya before and wanted to try it. We liked this dish, and ate it with saltines. Made as written except I didn't add celery as I didn't have any. Very good, but needed to add extra hot sauce to kick it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Rinse your rice thoroughly before adding to keep it from becoming pasty, or, cook it seperately, (after rinsing first,) and add at end, then, simmer a little longer to get some of the stock flavor into rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saucier Du Fer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This wasn't terrible but I don't think I'll be making it again. The flavors were good but weird. I added a d can of diced tomatoes & used shrimp in place of chicken per other reviewers suggestions & also added a can of red kidney beans (need more fiber & iron in my diet)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrsejessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
made as is, except added the Worcestershire sauce to the chicken stock and added another cup of broth. for those that have sticky rice issues, i learned long ago rinsing the rice until the water is clear(2 or 3 times) before you cook it removes the starch that makes it sticky, doesn't change the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmallen6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sugarbear
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Love this easy recipe! I add an extra Green Pepper and extra celery along with a diced medium onion instead of onion powder to give the meal a bit more substance. And I also use a local butchers Andouiee sausage to get a bit more heat but still this is a great recipe and always goes fast around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugarbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States