Easy Cajun Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I used red, orange and yellow bell peppers since I don't care for green. Added a can of diced tomatoes and a can of kidney beans. I also added a heaping tablespoon of Cajun seasoning, as I felt it was needing a little extra something. Turned out to be a hit at my Mardis Gras dinner party with crusty bread and crab cakes with mixed greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I skipped the chicken and added shrimp at the very end. It was delicious! I put it in the crock pot because the rice was not done in 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Never had jambalaya before and wanted to try it. We liked this dish, and ate it with saltines. Made as written except I didn't add celery as I didn't have any. Very good, but needed to add extra hot sauce to kick it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Rinse your rice thoroughly before adding to keep it from becoming pasty, or, cook it seperately, (after rinsing first,) and add at end, then, simmer a little longer to get some of the stock flavor into rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saucier Du Fer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This wasn't terrible but I don't think I'll be making it again. The flavors were good but weird. I added a d can of diced tomatoes & used shrimp in place of chicken per other reviewers suggestions & also added a can of red kidney beans (need more fiber & iron in my diet)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrsejessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
made as is, except added the Worcestershire sauce to the chicken stock and added another cup of broth. for those that have sticky rice issues, i learned long ago rinsing the rice until the water is clear(2 or 3 times) before you cook it removes the starch that makes it sticky, doesn't change the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmallen6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Placentia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sugarbear
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Love this easy recipe! I add an extra Green Pepper and extra celery along with a diced medium onion instead of onion powder to give the meal a bit more substance. And I also use a local butchers Andouiee sausage to get a bit more heat but still this is a great recipe and always goes fast around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugarbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Sooooo yummy! First time making jumbalaya and it was delicious, simple, and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Great recipe!! Finally one that doesnt call for tomatoes!!! I come from southwest Louisiana. Creole jambalaya has tomatoes, cajun does not. I prefer the cajun version, as do all in my family. I also like to use cheap cuts of pork in place or in addition to the chicken. And any kind of smoked sausage works well. yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abbeville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This recipe is really great. I went with other reviewers' advice and added a can of diced tomatoes. I opted to skip the chicken and used 14 extra large shrimp which I added after cooking time and let steam up, stirring after 2 minutes, another 3 minutes, and another 5 minutes (10 minutes total elapsed time). I substituted turkey kielbasa. I also used brown rice so my cooking time was 40 minutes. I'm confident that this is a 5 star recipe based on the flavor of the dish, despite the changes I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 445) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States