Easy Cajun Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I loved it. I forgot the bay leaves and it still turned out great. Didn't put much hot pepper sauce in because I was cooking for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I had no cayenne pepper so I put in chili pepper, and before covering it, added some thyme and oregano. Otherwise, this was prepared as directed and the entire family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
i was really hoping for something more and i couldn't put my finger on it until today.. i was missing the tomato.. looking around on google this morning i found out that typical cajun jambalaya doesn't have tomatoes but creole does.. who knew? i tried adding some old bay but it still didn't taste right to me.. either way.. bf enjoyed this.. i didn't care much for it.. so i'm splitting the difference.. ty for the recipe b/c now i know the difference between cajun and creole styles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Really good recipe - I read a number of reviews and settled on the following modifications....followed it all but added in a 14.5 oz can of diced toms with green chile, 1 can of rinsed and drained dark red kidney beans and about a 1/2 TBSP of Cajun seasoning. It was superb. Will definitely be making again as an easy/quick one pot spin up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Too thick and gluteny. I have tried many different recipes and have found if you use basmati rice instead of normal long grain rice the dish is lighter, healthier and above all tastier. The rice doesn't stick together in one big mushy lump as its basmati which has less gluten content. For a more traditional jambalaya you need to add 1 x chorizo sausage cut into bite size pieces, 1 whole chilli & 5 to 6 pieces of garlic minced in a crusher, 8 x mushrooms, 2 x celery stalks, 1 x red onion, 1 x red pepper, 1 x green pepper and 1 x yellow pepper. You also need 1 can of chopped tomatoes and preferably several cups of dry white wine along with a good chicken stock for the rice to absorb, homemade stock is even better. Once you have fried the vegetables right at the beginning you then need to add in the rice and fry for 2 mins so the rice absorbs all the flavour otherwise putting it in at the end is a bit pointless really. Then add in 1 x bay leaf why you ask??? I don't know ha ha but everyone puts one in so why not though I don't feel it adds anything to the dish anyway. Keep stirring is the trick with this dish otherwise it will stick on the bottom. Best utensil to use is a large wok as the heat penetrates better than a normal saucepan. Treat this dish exactly like a risotto and you won't go wrong!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I've made this dish several times over the past couple years, I've tweeked it a little to fit our taste. I cook the rice separately in the rice cooker with a couple bay leaves(we use brown rice). I also use anaheim chili pepper instead of the bell pepper because I don't care for bell pepper. Oh & I always add more meat & creole seasonings. Family loves it, so do I! Leftovers taste great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Made this as is except for adding a can of diced tomatoes and omitted the hot sauce at the end. Perfect spice. Not overwhelming but a nice authentic flavor with the perfect kick. A favorite with every person here, all 8 of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amys6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I have no idea if this is authentic (how is it I've never tried jambalaya before?!) but it sure is delicious. I added a can of tomatoes as suggested by others. Perfect amount of heat and the texture was great (no issues with pasty/sticky rice; I used jasmine rice). Definitely going into the regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBHOLT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This was a 4 or 4 1/2 star recipe. I follow the directions exactly, and while it was finishing cooking I realized, "This doesn't have any color." Having never made jambalaya before I didn't realize that it is supposed to have tomato something in it. Well, I added a 6oz. can of tomato paste, and tinkered around with the spices (personal preference) and it was AMAZING!! Adding that can of tomato paste brought it up to a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogers, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carms
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Super easy and full of flavor! I added a small can of tomato sauce and used turkey sausage (already cooked), and brown rice instead. It was still delicious and i was amazed how much flavor i was able to cook up in such a short amount of time. I cooked the rice in a rice cooker while the veggies were cooking and then added it at the end with the bay leaves, tomato sauce, hot sauce, and Worcestershire sauce. if you are looking for a quick and easy but exciting recipe, try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States