Easy Cajun Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Brittany Hinkle
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Delicious with cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Hinkle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
This recipe is definitely not Cajun and it's definitely not jambalaya, but I guess it wasn't bad. It was missing something, though. Overall, this recipe received an 'okay' rating at my house. I made mostly as directed. I cut back on the garlic by half, because 2 tablespoons was WOO HA too much. I also used some leftover hot Italian sausage links (to try and replicate Andouille, which I didn't have) instead of kielbasa, because in no way, shape, or form does kielbasa belong in Cajun cooking. =) I also left out the hot sauce at the end, because my teen son has NO tolerance for heat (the cayenne gave it just enough kick for me and hubby). Those were the only changes. I didn't realize until everything was simmering away that there were no tomatoes in the recipe! As written, I don't think I'd bother making this again. Not very much flavor for a bunch of ingredients. I WOULD, though, try it again using some added tomato sauce or a can of crushed tomatoes, or maybe a can of Rotel. I really think it would be excellent with just one or two more ingredients for one more layer of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This was easy and yummy! I used whatever I had on hand for meats ie; 1 small ham steak, 1 chopped chicken breast, 1# sweet Italian sausage and 1/4 lb hot smoked sausage. Then followed the advice and added the 14 oz can of diced tomatoes , Cajun seasoning instead of salt and pepper, and chipotle Tabasco ( my new favorite hot sauce!) , oh and brown rice. I only had fresh bay leaves, so I used those, and celery seed just because it felt New Orleans~y... It was FANTASTIC! Thanks so much for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Tried this recipe for the first time. Quite tasty! I added some mushrooms and shrimps (I have so much that I don't know what to do with them), skipped celery (too late to make a 2nd trip to the store), and used steamed rice..didn't mix as it would get sticky (I'm Asian, rice expert).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jhoana Banana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
We have 4 kids ages 7 and under who LOVED this dinner! They all ate at least seconds and two ate four servings. I used canned chicken and added some shredded zucchini. It was very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Very delicious!!! I added tomatoes with green chillies, Creole seasoning, omitted the salt, red peppers and it was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Original recipe yields 4 stars...add a can of rotel tomatoes and some extra spices ie (Cajun, dash old bay). Cook rice separate. and AMAZZZING! So full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eagle Lake, Maine, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
good! I'd like to get your take on spicy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Reyment

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Good base recipe - I used andouille sausage instead of kielbasa and added diced smoked ham (tasso). I also added a can of Rotel diced tomatoes for color and more kick. Cajun seasoning to taste and my South Louisiana friends would have been proud of me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Lifesaver! I made this last night for five friends and it turned out great. I don't know much about cooking and definitely don't know much about cajun cooking, but even I could follow this recipe, and it was delicious! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam Long

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 458) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States