Easy Cajun Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I left out the celery because blech and I cooked the rice separately; those are the only two changes I made to this recipe. This was good but still too harsh for my SO's extremely sensitive palate (big baby), which means more leftovers for me! Yay! Will make again and I'll leave out a bay leaf next time. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhubarb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2015
I made this for someone who doesn't like spicy things. This seemed much less spicy than most other recipes and it went over well (I added some tabasco to my dish!). I added a red pepper and a can of diced tomatoes because I like more of a reddish broth. I also added shrimp and made a seafood stock from the shrimp shells, green onion and garlic. Just throw the shrimp in about five minutes before you take it off simmer. Very easy recipe to spice up or spice down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
One of the best recipes on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I made this in a Dutch-oven for the adults on our Boy Scout outing. I added another tsp of 5 pepper spice mix, a 14oz can of diced tomatoes and a 1/2 lb of cleaned and peeled raw medium shrimp (5 mins before serving). Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
My husband and I loved this recipe. I did cook the rice separate and used brown rice, used 1tbsp of homemade Cajun seasoning and a 24oz can of diced tomatoes so I cut back the chicken stock to 2 cups. Oh, and added about 2 cups shrimp, it was so wonderful ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Great, easy recipe! I add shrimp and use a cajun spiced sausage as well as the chicken. I omit the bay leaf. It's a very adaptable recipe and I have used it many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Made as is, loved as is. I did cook sausage and chicken separately, concerned both would overcrowd the pan and not brown. Sausage first and then chicken. Just to sample it with tomatoes, in a saucepan, added diced tomatoes to a small portion of the finished product. Brought to a simmer. Didn't care for it at all. If I'd change anything in the future, it'd be the addition of shrimp, because my boyfriend exclaimed "WHAT'S JAMBALAYA WITHOUT SHRIMP?!"... and then proceeded to eat 3 servings. Haha ...and took a heaping container of leftovers for lunch today. Great recipe! Bonus: One pot, less mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I LOVE this recipe! I make this every year for Fat Tuesday... perfect as written but I add a can of red beans and a can of kidney beans and I leave out the Worcestershire, hot sauce and cayenne pepper and substitute with "Slap Ya Mama" Cajun seasoning. Delicious and always turns out...Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Very good. I added shrimps at the end and some crushed oysters. This is good stuff and quick to make. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brittany Hinkle
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Delicious with cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Hinkle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 467) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States