Easy Cajun Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Great, easy recipe! I add shrimp and use a cajun spiced sausage as well as the chicken. I omit the bay leaf. It's a very adaptable recipe and I have used it many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Made as is, loved as is. I did cook sausage and chicken separately, concerned both would overcrowd the pan and not brown. Sausage first and then chicken. Just to sample it with tomatoes, in a saucepan, added diced tomatoes to a small portion of the finished product. Brought to a simmer. Didn't care for it at all. If I'd change anything in the future, it'd be the addition of shrimp, because my boyfriend exclaimed "WHAT'S JAMBALAYA WITHOUT SHRIMP?!"... and then proceeded to eat 3 servings. Haha ...and took a heaping container of leftovers for lunch today. Great recipe! Bonus: One pot, less mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I LOVE this recipe! I make this every year for Fat Tuesday... perfect as written but I add a can of red beans and a can of kidney beans and I leave out the Worcestershire, hot sauce and cayenne pepper and substitute with "Slap Ya Mama" Cajun seasoning. Delicious and always turns out...Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Very good. I added shrimps at the end and some crushed oysters. This is good stuff and quick to make. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brittany Hinkle
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Delicious with cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Hinkle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
This recipe is definitely not Cajun and it's definitely not jambalaya, but I guess it wasn't bad. It was missing something, though. Overall, this recipe received an 'okay' rating at my house. I made mostly as directed. I cut back on the garlic by half, because 2 tablespoons was WOO HA too much. I also used some leftover hot Italian sausage links (to try and replicate Andouille, which I didn't have) instead of kielbasa, because in no way, shape, or form does kielbasa belong in Cajun cooking. =) I also left out the hot sauce at the end, because my teen son has NO tolerance for heat (the cayenne gave it just enough kick for me and hubby). Those were the only changes. I didn't realize until everything was simmering away that there were no tomatoes in the recipe! As written, I don't think I'd bother making this again. Not very much flavor for a bunch of ingredients. I WOULD, though, try it again using some added tomato sauce or a can of crushed tomatoes, or maybe a can of Rotel. I really think it would be excellent with just one or two more ingredients for one more layer of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This was easy and yummy! I used whatever I had on hand for meats ie; 1 small ham steak, 1 chopped chicken breast, 1# sweet Italian sausage and 1/4 lb hot smoked sausage. Then followed the advice and added the 14 oz can of diced tomatoes , Cajun seasoning instead of salt and pepper, and chipotle Tabasco ( my new favorite hot sauce!) , oh and brown rice. I only had fresh bay leaves, so I used those, and celery seed just because it felt New Orleans~y... It was FANTASTIC! Thanks so much for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Tried this recipe for the first time. Quite tasty! I added some mushrooms and shrimps (I have so much that I don't know what to do with them), skipped celery (too late to make a 2nd trip to the store), and used steamed rice..didn't mix as it would get sticky (I'm Asian, rice expert).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jhoana Banana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
We have 4 kids ages 7 and under who LOVED this dinner! They all ate at least seconds and two ate four servings. I used canned chicken and added some shredded zucchini. It was very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Very delicious!!! I added tomatoes with green chillies, Creole seasoning, omitted the salt, red peppers and it was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 462) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States