Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
very yummy and easy to make. Big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joanne W.
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Great recipe! 1 large butternut squash yielded 2 cups and therefore I doubled the filling recipe. I did not use an egg yolk, but it did not matter. Added a little extra cayenne just to give it a slight kick. I was unable to purchase wonton wrappers and instead purchased a 16 oz package of egg roll wrappers. Cut into quarters and made triangle shaped ravioli. The doubled filling was perfect for the amount of wrappers I had. Used about 3/4 of a teaspoon of filling in each wrapper. The fresh snipped sage and fresh peppered parmesan were elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
These were super delicious! This will definitely be a regular item on my family's dinner menu. My only gripe about this recipe is the delicacy of the won ton wrapper. It took several tries to prevent tearing and to sufficently seal the edges together. Once mastered though, this recipe rocked! I followed another reviewer's advice and used a generous amount of cayenne pepper which gave the ravioli a nice kick. In case anyone else doesn't have mascarpone cheese stocked in their fridge, a mixture of 8 oz. cream cheese, 2 1/2 tbs sour cream, and 1/4 c. heavy whipping cream in lieu of the mascarpone cheese works perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This recipe was delicious. The first time you cook something like this is always a learning curve. So hopefully this will help your first time be perfect. First, less is more. Putting more than the teaspoon recommended makes the ravioli too rich. We all preferred the raviolis with less butternut squash mixture. Secondly, when you cook the raviolis in butter, do only one layer at a time. Otherwise the raviolis stick. I would do two batches with half of the butter in each. Lastly, I substituted the mascarpone cheese for light cream cheese, and it was delicious! Thanks for a recipe that we will surely make again - for simple family dinners and important guests alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Seriously delicious!!! Cook time took more than 10 minutes though, since you have to boil raviolis few at a time, but it was totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I LOVED this recipe. It is finally the ravioli I crave from my favorite Italian restaurant. The brown butter sage sauce is perfect. I did use acorn squash instead of butternut because that is what I had. I also made some changes that made this a little healthier. I used 2 oz. of Neufatel cheese (a lower fat cream cheese) and two tablespoons of Parmesan instead of the cheese suggested. I also used a teaspoon of maple syrup in the mixture. Lastly, I topped the ravioli with roasted walnuts and served it with a spinach salad and roasted brussel sprouts. This takes a little longer than implied, but so worth the time investment. I great vegetarian dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
delicious! the cayenne pepper doesn't really do much in terms of heat or flavor, so i either add a big pinch of it or a big pinch of crushed red pepper flakes. didn't do the sage butter sauce, but rather just tossed in butter and topped with freshly grated parmesan. the raviolis come out delicate and subtle, with a comforting butternut squash taste. SO good. will definitely make again and again. oh, also this recipe made a lot so i froze a bunch (laid out on a baking sheet to freeze then threw them all in a bag) and cooked about 3 min, until the raviolis floated to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Very easy to assemble and got rave reviews from the adults! I added some diced smoked chicken breast leftover from another meal and it combined beautifully with the butternut squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was awesome!! I made it (and didn't tell my veggie hating boyfriend what was in it at first ha ha) I had him taste it and he loved it and was shocked when I told him it was made with butternut squash. These tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felecia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitwell, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This was absolutely delicious! I used neufatchel cheese instead of marscapone, like another reviewer suggested. I could not find the marscapone cheese at my local grocery store. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States