Easy Brownie Shortcake Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Very nice looking desert and tasted pretty good. I used strawberries, blackberries and kiwi. Made it the hole tub of whipped topping as well. I had two 9" cake pans that i 1/2 the amount of brownie mix into the two and made it a lot easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany McCullough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Tasted yummy, beautiful presentation until I went to serve it. Cutting through brownie is not easy, the whipped topping smeared, it was not attractive at all served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heart in Ukraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
What a great dessert for Easter! I did change a few things after reading some of the reviews... I split the brownie mix into 2 cake pans so I didn't have to worry about cutting and added blueberries to give it more color. I did use the remaining sour cream but once I "filled" the cake, I added more cool whip to the mixture for the top. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
beautiful presentation and easy!! I recommend dividing the batter and cooking in two round pans (or one at a time) to avoid the whole cutting apart. Otherwise pretty fun and foolproof and deliciously rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I really enjoyed this dessert, however I omitted quite a bit of sour cream. I used the 1/2 c. in the batter (good), but only a dollop in the whipped cream mixture and even that was plenty. Another friend commented that she would leave it out next time. The fresh fruit on top made it very pretty and it was quick to assemble. Keeper! Also, it serves 8, maybe 12, NOT 16.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I thought that this recipe looked really yummy and would be pretty easy to make. Well, it was fairly easy to make, but I just didn't like the taste of the brownie after adding the sour cream. It made the texture of the brownie heavy and not very sweet. If I make this recipe again, I will probably use the brownie mix as is, or use a chocolate cake instead. The icing was also a bit sour creamish like many have suggested. So I added in more whip cream, vanilla, and then added some nesquick for a semi chocolatey flavor. After that, the icing tasted a bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
turned out delicious .the only thing we did differently was add blueberries to go with the strawberries and kiwi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This was pretty delicious. I only used strawberries because the kiwis weren't ripe enough. And I probably doubled the amount of Cool Whip in the sour cream mixture. It just didn't look like it was going to go very far without something more. I also took the reccommendation of another reviewer and baked the brownie in two rounds so I wouldn't have to cut it. It was super duper easy, and pretty delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALISAE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This recipe really caught my eye. It is such a pretty dessert. I did several things different.... I used two 8 inch cake pans instead of one 9 inch pan. I had plenty enough batter to do this. This was much easier than trying to cut the one layer. My family isn't wild about Cool Whip. (Probably comes from how I have spoiled them with the REAL THING!) Also, I didn't think my son would be wild over the sour cream. So, I just made my own homemade whipped cream using 16 ounces of heavy whipping cream, along with 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla, and 1/2 cup of sugar. This worked really well and was easy to make. I bought a package of fresh strawberries. I reserved enough sliced strawberries to decorate the top of the cake with, along with kiwi fruit and bananas. I alternated the strawberries and kiwi fruit around the cake, covering the cake, and then cut the bananas up on the top the strawberries and kiwi fruit. I took the rest of my sliced strawberries and made a nice little strawberry glaze with a little corn starch, cold water, and sugar in a sauce pan, then chilled it for several hours. I also had extra whipped cream left over and extra fruit. So, I cut the cake and my family used the extra whipped cream, fruit, and strawberry glaze to top it with. WOW!! SO, SO GOOD!! My family thought it was one of the best desserts they had ever had. My family loves regular strawberry short cake. So, I thought they would love this new twist, and did they ever love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This is a great recipe - and presents very well! One bit of advice... Don't forget the sour cream in the brownie batter. My sister and I both made this for Easter and I made it first and forgot but was able to warn her - the batter fluffs up a lot more with the sour cream!! Still tastes great though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States