Easy Brownie Mix Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Made these as the recipe stated. They came out very moist. They were very easy to throw together. I actually prefer these to the regular boxed brownie! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Really easy to make!!! Wonderfully moist! YUM. Followed this recipe to a tee without complaints :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Did not work for me. Cookies spred out way too much in the oven. Stuck to the pan really bad. If I were to make again I would put in way more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I had the same problem as the previous reviewer (spread too much, impossible to scrape off the cookie sheet without breaking), until I let the dough refrigerate overnight, after whichitit turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
These cookies were amazing. I did as another suggested and I refrigerated them overnight and then cooked them for about 10 minutes (until the tops were cracked.) They were gone in a flash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I followed the recipe to the letter and they came out delicious and perfect! I added white chocolate chips to the batter. Soooo good! Just line your pan with parchment paper and no mess! Thanks for the great chewy chocolate cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I just made these the other day with my 3-year-old daughter and they really were super easy! A few people mentioned that their cookies spread out too much. After making these myself I have a few factors for future bakers of this recipe to consider. I just happened to read this recipe the day before seeing brownie mix on sale at the grocery store, so I just picked up the box with trying this recipe in mind. However, the recipe calls for "1 (19.8 ounce) package brownie mix" and when I got home and checked out my box of Duncan Hines Extra Thick & Fudgy mix it was only 18.3 oz. This got me thinking, how will this affect my results? First, the recipe calls for just a box of brownie mix, thus I think it might be important to consider the "style" of brownie mix you are using-there is a lot of variety out there. AND my mix weighed one (1) ounce less than the recipe called for. I hadn't thought about the fact that NOT all boxed brownie mixes are created equal until I cam across this recipe. To compensate I played around with adding a little bit more all purpose flour (one tablespoon at a time)to make sure my dough was thick. I also skipped the part about greasing my baking sheets and just used parchment paper. The cookies came out perfect, they did not spread out too much or anything. Very chewy, yummy, and easy to make. I think this is a great recipe to do baking with kids or for a new "baker" trying to gain confidence by baking "outside the box"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Charlestown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
If you love the corner pieces of regular brownies you might actually enjoy these cookies.I used way more than 1/4 cup of flour, but I couldn't tell you how much I ended up using; I just kept adding flour until I got the cookie dough consistency I was looking for. Because I did THAT, the first batch of cookies was a little bland. I added 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla extract to the rest of the batter and that seemed to help. These are not the BEST cookies I have ever made, but I will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Just finished making these and they turned out great. I wish I had read reviews before making them as I think refridgerating before baking sounds like a good idea. I panicked when I saw how runny the dough was and added a little more flour. I am sure that it was not needed. Thanks for sharing this easy cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Very good cookie. I refrigerated the dough, and it made them much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States