Easy Brownie Mix Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
this recipe just did not work well for me. The dough was thick and sticky, so thick that I could not add any extra flour to it in order to make up for the smaller # of ounces in the actual brownie mix. I chilled it over night, hoping that would help. I am not sure if it did. The dough was hard to work with, sticking to the spoon and then my hands. One other reviewer mentioned parchment paper so I tried that. NO GOOD.............the cookies STUCK to it and I had a hard time getting them off of the parchment paper without ruining them. Then I tried just putting the cookies on an ungreased baking sheet. I had to use a tiny knife to loosen them up and get them off the pan. Now they are all off of pans and paper. They are very rich and chocolaty and I know they will be consumed, but I will not use this particular recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I followed the Recipe to a tee and they came out perfectly. Didn't stick to the pan or spread out. Sooooo delicious! I also used peanut butter chips instead of semi chocolate ones.. best idea ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Great and simply to follow. I make them for all my charity events and any time I need to take a treat somewhere. My nephew can't stop eating them on me when I make them. Parchment paper makes the clean up so easier. I remove them before they are cooled and put on cardboard to cool, eliminates the hard to remove issues. Freeze well for later dates. Doesn't matter what type of brownie mix, all tastes great. Especially with Skor pieces in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiky N Mady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Like others, I couldn't find the right size brownie mix. I tried some other suggestions of adding more flour and using crisco and refrigerating, and the cookies didn't spread too much. However, they were very thin, hard to get off the pan, even using parchment paper. They crumbled some and I could not make them into sandwiches. They tasted delicious, but was not what I was hoping for in a sandwich cookie. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
The dough is too sticky and gloopy so it is hard to form into cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Excellent.Excellent.Excellent recipie. Came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I'd eaten these before and loved them, and this is just the recipe I was looking for. Glad it was so super easy to make, too! I used a small packet of brownie mix, about 10 ounces, so I just halved everything else and it worked fine. I'd say only leave on pan to cool 1 minute instead of 2 because the first pan full came off just fine and the second was getting difficult. I didn't use chocolate chips, saving calories, and they are still wonderful. I'm thinking peanut butter chips or peanut butter m&m's would be great in these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I add chopped walnuts to my batter and this recipe makes the most delicious walnut brownie cookies ever! Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I wished I had read the reviews prior to making this recipe. My cookies came out way to spread out and thin. It is very IMPORTANT that your brownie mix is 19.8 oz box, mine was 18.3 oz, I think refrigerating the batter for at least an hour would've helped too. I will re-try this recipe with the larger box of brownie mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I read the reviews about the trouble with the batter being to thin, so I accommodated by making these more like a cookie than a brownie. I omitted the vegetable oil and used Crisco instead. Creamed the 1/4 cup of Crisco and eggs together, then added the brownie mix (18.3), and 1/4 cup flour and 2 tbsp. of water. Then stir in the chocolate chips. Basked as directed. The result is a moist, puffy cookie! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States