Easy Broccoli Slaw Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I am truly surprised by the positive comments. I hate to be a 'Debbie Downer' here, Mis' and the rest of the folks but, A. It doesn't tell you what to do with the noodles. Most of us can kind of figure it out but I have had this salad before with the noodles RAW and that is what the noodles 'crunch' was like...uncooked noodles. I think maybe a Chinese noodle, the kind you get with chow mein, would work much better. I have made a similar recipe with cooked noodles that is really good, minus raisins. Again, the fact that the regular layperson would be confused is enough to give this a poor rating...and raw ramen noodles, no matter how long they are marinated, are NOT good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
This is a variation of one of my favorite go-to salads..but mine only uses 1/4-1/4 c sugar (your taste) and the flavor pack from an oriental Ramen noodles pack. The noodles ARE put in uncooked (crunch them in the packet as well as you can before the wrapper breaks then crunch/ break up well when adding, as the large "groups" don't hydrate well) and I like to put them in the dressing an hour or two before mixing the dressing through it all, and serving, depending on how much crunch you like. I also use sunflower nuts instead of the almonds (personal taste and I keep a jar on the fridge for most salads). I like the addition of raisins but dried apricots or craisens would be fun too. Really a great salad for a quick put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
OK it doesn't say what to do with the ramen noodles, do you just add them uncooked??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Abell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
It doesn't say if the ramen noodles should be cooked or raw, in fact, it doesn't even mention using them in the directions. It just tells to use the seasoning packet in the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I couldn't find broccoli slaw mix, had to use carrot broccoli cabbage slaw. Then I added 1 broccoli stock that I cut up & some small florets. I also couldn't find golden raisins. Made it for thanksgiving & have been asked to bring it for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sammydagonz
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Soooooooo good. Can't get enough. We substituted a few things to make it healthier: the sugar with Splenda, the soy sauce with light soy sauce, only used one ramen seasoning packet and didn't use any noodles. Definitely going to have this at least once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
great! Only used 1/3 cup oil and the cranberries as one other suggested. I only sprinkled the bell papers on mine… as the rest of my family do not care for them. Will definitely use this one again. I served it with Korean Bar B Q that I cooked in the crock pot! Awesome, Easy and inexpensive dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Radford-Bowen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Used this recipe as a guide and made the following adjustments: Trader Joe's Broccoli Slaw mix, 12 oz bag; no sugar in the dressing, no ramen or ramen seasoning, instead I used Trader Joe's everyday seasoning mix, instead of almonds I used sunflower seeds and also left out onions & green peppers. Turned out great although the dressing to slaw ratio was a little off (probably b/c I left out so many things), it was a little more 'wet' than I usually prefer. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Broccoli slaw is a frequent side dish on my menu . I keep on hand a bottle of Renee's Asian Sesame vinegar dressing (not the yellow kind from kraft)- perfect substitute that will take the short prep time to super short 2-mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
This recipe was fantastic. It was even better the next day! I only used 1/2 cup evoo and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States