Easy Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Ok, what did I do wrong??? Could not get the dressing to thicken up using a small whisk. The broccoli cooked fine at 6 mins. It spouse would rather not eat a cold salad broccoli. May try this again as we like broccoli.. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This salad is very refreshing. It was so yummy, we didn't have enough to fully satisfy our new craving for broccoli salad. The children are hoping we have more again soon. I did go light on the red pepper at first, but will only increase that slowly over time, until we figure out what 'pinch' means for our family. Also, just to cut down on dishes (we don't have a dishwasher, & we are a busy family), we cheated by draining & rinsing the broccoli right in its pan, then adding a bit of ice to some water in the same pan. After it cooled fully (hardly any time at all), we continued by draining the broccoli very well (but gently) using a towel, since we do have a clothes' washer! *grin* Then we put the broccoli back into the pot & added the salad dressing in the pot before presenting it in a nice, oversized soup-bowl sized bowl. It was lovely, & it chilled quickly in the fridge. Chilling truly is not needed for this to be enjoyable; both my daughter & I sampled some right after mixing in the dressing. However, the salad also chills very well; which we know because we had to wait for the main dish to be done)-We used a hand blender in a tall cup to blend the dressing & didn't have to even lightly chop the garlic as it blended right in.(2Make for a crowd (which we might), make dressing in a jar!)��Then, after folding the dressing into the salad, we simply washed the blender & the cup together with hot water. It was so little mess for such a beautiful salad. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I made this a few times and for me, it is 5 stars with one caveat: it doesn't need that much olive oil. I added less than half and thought it worked fine. My family and I love broccoli and this was a fun way to make it more interesting without overpowering the taste of the veggie. I also like that the recipe makes good use of the stem. I served with lemon broiled salmon and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
So simple, yet so good! This really perks up regular 'ol broccoli and delivers a nice amout of sweet and heat. I did cut back on the olive oil a bit but other than that didn't change a thing. This is excellent warm or cold and would be great over green beans or brussel sprouts as well. I liked the dressing so much I added a little sugar and it was perfect over a mixed green salad. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Excellent way to prepare broccoli. Very fresh tasting and very tasty too. I steamed the broccoli but made no other changes I always enjoy Chef John's videos. He is so entertaining and his recipes are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhoda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Yum! Light and fresh and very easy. I steamed my broccoli for 5-6 minutes and I cut down on the oil (used 2 TB). This is tangy but in a good way. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Did not like the flavor of this - at all. Way too garlicky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Very fresh, watch the video for great tips! I followed his advice and the broccoli was perfectly cooked, not mushy, and made my mouth pop! :-) Thanks for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I have to say this wasn't my favorite; i prefer plain brocoli! I think it's because I'm not typically a fan of horseradish/dijon mustard and I found the flavour of that overpowering. However, if you like those, you will like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Not good for me at all. Maybe way too much vinegar or lemon but it was not nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States