Easy Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Who knew something so simple could be so good? This has such a fresh clean taste. The dressing is a bit more acidic than I like but that's just me. I added about 1/2 tsp honey to balance it out. We'll have this often! I bet this would be great with asparagus, too. Tomorrow night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Great, simple recipe! I had a package with both broccoli and cauliflower combined, so I added both to this recipe, and it was delicious. I also added a bit of sweet to the vinegarette to balance the flavor a bit (agave syrup). I wanted to also comment on Chef John's video presentation. He has a wonderful down-to-earth way about him and I picked up a lot of good tips about broccoli preparation in general from this video. Thanks for the recipe, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danij214

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I would have given this five stars but it had too much olive oil for my taste. Next time I will cut the olive oil in half. Other than that, the flavor was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This was fantastic! Cut the olive oil in half because I thought it might be too oily. It was great like that. It's a definite keeper for us. 3 of us ate it all up it was so delicious with a little bit left for hubby's lunch tomorrow. Follow Chef John's video. I just have to add to my review: we have made this several times since my last rating and I LOVE this stuff!! I follow the video exactly for cutting it and putting it in cold water to stop the cooking. I do cut the oil though, because it would be way too oily if we did not. When I make it now I have to make extra we love it so much. I have never been a fan of broccoli in the past and do not really care for it raw. But I have become a fan of broccoli because of this recipe. It is simple to make and the red pepper flakes give it a nice appearance and pizzazz if making it for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Nice, healthy, flavorful version for eating our most consumed veggie! We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Nice, easy, and tasty. I only used a couple tablespoons of olive oil, and let it sit in the fridge for an hour. Served with grilled salmon kabobs, and the orzo with basil and parmesan from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Good but needed a little more , so I added roasted garlic seasoning and some thinly sliced purple onion for color variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I loved as is. I used all of the oil olive and got a nice emulsion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Used only florets and tested after boiling for two minutes, which was plenty of time to cook tender. Cut the oil back to 2 T. and next time will cut the rice vinegar back to 1 T. Might be more interesting with cauliflower florets and thinly sliced carrots added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Prepared this as a side dish with burgers. I also blanched carrot slices and cucumbers for this - it was very good and colorful. I didn't put as much pepper flakes in the recipe for our taste, and omitted the vinegar, but used a little more lemon juice. Very tasty. Will make again. Thank you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States