Easy Broccoli Quinoa Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Great! Toasted the quinoa in a dry skillet first, used choppoed frozen broccoli (thawed), and used chicken broth instead of the water and bouillon. I did have to add quite a bit more milk (only had the one can of evaporated milk and that wasn't enough) and it still really wasn't soup consistency. However, it was really tasty! Topped with shredded cheddar-yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This tastes really good! I made this yesterday after work and it did not take long to make. It tastes like a broccoli-rice casserole. I toasted the quinoa (like another Reviewer suggested) and substituted veggie bouillon and a gluten-free flour. I also added turmeric for its health benefits plus the yellow color was nice. I will definitly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
my son who is 10 just found out he has Celiac and was upset that he could not have cream of broccoli soup. I found this receipe made it for him and he loves it. Will make it again for him and it is supper easy yet to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Super simple and delicious! I definitely had to add more liquid than the can of evaporated milk. I must have added at least another cup of milk to the recipe. The quinoa soaks up liquids like a thirsty sponge, so the "soup" is more like a thick porridge if you use only the evaporated milk. So tasty, I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Delicous! i used corn starch instead of flour, and it got so thick I can eat with chopsticks, but incredibly delicious anyway (note: dissolve bouillon cubes before adding them!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Recipe turned out great. Flavorful and so easy to make. I would agree with some of the reviews that you either need to eat the soup right away or add more liquid because the quinoa will soak up all the liquid, however the result is still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
very sweet indeed! I used coconut milk to keep it dairy free but may try rice milk next time (in a day or two). Thank you for sharring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Heber, Utah, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Flavorful and easy to make. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Very nice taste. I did use 3 cups of broth instead of the water and will double the broccoli next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Editing my review because I personally do not like it, however i'm sick at the moment and my tastebuds may be screwed up. My mother however LOVES it.. For those of you that have never had quinoa, she says it tastes similar to barley. She also says this tastes a lot like cream of broccoli soup- something a few other reviewers have mentioned. So, perhaps it really is good, i'm not sure. I had to cook the quinoa for longer than expected because there did not seem to be enough liquid for it to absorb to become fluffy naturally. May try it again with chicken broth instead of bouillon and maybe a different kind of quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States