Easy Breakfast Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I made this for Monday night football. I didn't add the ham and I fried the hash browns first. With the milk eggs salt and pepper I added sausage gravy..and I also added 2 more eggs. My dish was the first one gone. Every wife asked me for the recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walker, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Our family LOVED this recipe, and will be making it again! I didn't have ham, so turkey sausage was the only meat added to the dish, sauteed the mushrooms and onions with the turkey sausage, and cooked the hashbrowns in a skillet before adding to the dish. A little time consuming, but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Oh my gosh- the BEST breakfast casserole I've ever made....and so simple! My husband & kids DEVOURED it! (It is now dinner time & my husband is STILL talking about how good breakfast was!) The only adjustment I made was that I used 8 eggs instead of 6 & I baked it closer to an hour just so the hashbrowns on top would be crispy. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I assembled this casserole the night before. I didn't add ham only because I didn't have it on hand. I threw in an extra chopped red pepper and a little onion powder, garlic powder and some Frank's Hot Sauce. My husband loves these because it's like getting an omelette in the form of a casserole. I served this with toasted english muffins and Nutella hot cocoa. This was quite filling. NO leftovers--the boys ate it all but the small portion I had. My one issue with this was that the potatoes were mushy. The boys didn't care but I didn't care for the texture. If I were to make this again, I'd either fry the potatoes or bake them partially beforehand to help prevent some of the mushy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by ToT
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I made this the other morning after if had gotten home from work. I only gave it 4/5 stars because the hash browns were like mashed potatos, but I do partially take blame for that one. I beleive its simple to make and put together though. My friends said it looked as if it were layered, which I agreed, and said its called Strata. I added 8oz of sliced mushrooms to the cooking sausage with the onions and bell pepper, about 6oz of whole fresh spinach in a layer, 1 can of cream of mushroom soup and 12oz frozen corn in a layer. Used maple sausage. I placed the hash browns on bottom, and then the spinach, sausage mix which took up some room, ham, corn then topped it with shredded Mozzarella and Parmesan cheese. Added the Cream of Mushroom Soup to the milk and eggs. Poured over the dish and let rest for about 5 minutes for the liquid to settle to the bottom. Baked for about 40 minutes on 350 degrees. The dish is really good, but I will use more eggs and garlic next time. I may layer it in a different order next time putting the hash bowns on top with the cheese. Just a thought, and may even leave it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ToT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stigler, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I made this with Jimmy dean maple sausage links and used 12 eggs with 1 cup of milk. Also used a mixture of American and cheddar cheese. Tasted great for breakfast just time consuming
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Was a little nervous to make this since there are no reviews, but it turned out pretty good. I didn't do much different. We don't have 'Bob Evans' brands in our stores, so I just used comparable. Instead of ham steaks, I used deli ham. I added the mushrooms into the sausage/onion mixture to saute them a bit. I didn't add the yellow peppers b/c I don't care for them. I added more cheese on top at the end of baking so it looked pretty. This was more of a potatoe casserole than an egg one. Next time I might add 2 more eggs. I did refrigerate overnight, then took out 1/2 hour before baking. Took about 1 hour 15 mins to bake. Overall, very good... would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States